Air condition too cold to the point of no air flow

alex_tdi

Veteran Member
TDI
TDI GLS, 2001, Blue
Your compressor is not supposed to "cycle on and off".
Maybe I'm using the wrong terminology. I just know that the vibration comes and goes, intermittently, when the A/C is on. This started happening right after I got the compressor and dryer replaced. The expansion valve was replaced before when we thought the expansion valve was broken, but later turned out that the compressor itself was busted.

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Look, you came here asking for help. I asked ONE QUESTION that could very well be the reason for your troubles. It never got answered, even amongst the accusations of being a racist.

I am a professional auto tech, I specialize in Volkswagens, and do plenty of A/C work. I can help you, if you help me. We are on page 3 of this thread.... :rolleyes:

oilhammer

Certified Volkswagen Nut & Vendor
TDI
There are just too many to list....
Do yourself a favor: your Volkswagen was equipped from the factory with a Sanden compressor, a Parker drier, and usually either a Valeo or Hella expansion valve. If any one of those pieces is NOT the above mentioned brands, replace it with one that is. Your local dealer of course can get all the correct stuff, but many aftermarket places can also get the proper stuff. Then, once Volkswagen parts are installed, your Volkswagen's A/C system will once again function they way it is supposed to.
So I will ask one more time. :cool:

alex_tdi

Veteran Member
TDI
TDI GLS, 2001, Blue
I appreciate the help and I'm not calling you a racist.

As I stated yesterday, I will go to my mechanic and ask for the make of the replacement parts.

However, since I only have a chance to see him on the weekends, I won't know until this weekend.

16vjohn

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
EA288 CVCA 6MT