Jetta TDI buying advice

Cancop55

TDI
2006 TDI 1.9 Diesel
Hello, I'm looking at purchasing my first VW. Im not a very mechanically inclined individual so purchasing a used vehicle is nerve racking.

It's a 2006 Jetta TDI. It has the 1.9 Diesel engine. It has 393,000 KM. Gentleman is asking $2000 cdn dollars, it is inspected until 2023. Hes including brand new winters on rims also. The vehicle looks to be really good shape from the photos both inside and out.

What are some known issues with this vehicle that I should ask about and look for. Hes told me it will require battery, rear shocks and a tie rod end but that its very much drivable. Says the turbo was replaced prior to him owning but doesn't know when.

This purchase is really just to get me through the next 18 months or so at very low mileage, just a vehicle to get the kids to and from activities when my wife is working in the evenings. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

pedroYUL

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Passat CVCA; 2015 GSW CRUA; 2012 wagon CJAA; 2004 wagon BEW
You will be fine for 18 months with a new battery, best not to cheap out and get a dealer sold battery if you have a dealer nearby.

That jetta (engine code BRM) most likely needs a new camshaft and lifters. If you listen to the engine running and it taps kinda hard, it probably has a hole in a lifter or 2. I used to own a BRM jetta and indeed needed a cam and lifters around 200,000km, so most likely this one has been changed or it is a huge anomaly.

Look for videos of BRM engines with holed lifters, so you know how it sounds like. Once bad enough the car will bellow clouds of black smoke as if the turbo gave out.

pedroYUL

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Passat CVCA; 2015 GSW CRUA; 2012 wagon CJAA; 2004 wagon BEW
Also, if not with the original radio, the dead battery could be the result of the canbus never going to sleep with an aftermarket radio. Heck, even OEM newer radios (if retrofitted) require update to the canbus, one from a newer model jetta.