6 speed options for B5.5 4motion tdi conversions

50harleyrider

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2005 B5.5 TDI/geared BSM, BV43A turbo,stage 2 TDTUNING. 2005 5sp manual passat tdi stage 2 tdtuning,BSM delete. 2015 Passat TDI 6sp manual.
I've seen some B5.5 4motion tdi conversions using Euro tdi 5sp trannys. Would it be possible to start with a B5.5 4motion car and use a C5 quattro 2.7t 6sp tranny in it? Or perhaps a 2.0 B7 quattro 6sp tranny although it's probably geared shorter? There are quiet a few donor quattro cars available in the states now is why I ask.

Last edited:

86turbodsl

Veteran Member
TDI
05 Golf GLS TDI (retired), 04 A4Q (swap candidate)
Should be able to use any Audi A4/A6 manual transmission in that car, assuming you are adding an equivalent ratio rear axle. I have no experience with B5.5 chassis so i don't know what rear axle setup will fit that car. I'm assuming there are floor pan differences but i don't know that for sure.

V70R

TDI
2005 Passat TDI Wagon
If you wanted to go 01E from a C5 A6, you‘d need all the swap stuff along with a W8 manual driveshaft. The gearing on US 01E transmissions doesnt really suit a diesel, and the 6th gear cruising RPM’s are pretty high at anything over 65-70mph.

02X is possible yes. There are no provisions for side trans mounts (think 01A or 01E for example) on an 01X or 02X, so you have to run a crossmember for this conversion. This does not require a custom driveshaft- the 5HP19 is the exact same length as an 02X. Just need the crossmember and a Dakota Digital VSS setup along with your standard swap parts.

Here are the crossmembers for this conversion we’ve made for about 4 years now, and to date I think theres been over 20 conversions done. Looks a little something like this-

50harleyrider

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2005 B5.5 TDI/geared BSM, BV43A turbo,stage 2 TDTUNING. 2005 5sp manual passat tdi stage 2 tdtuning,BSM delete. 2015 Passat TDI 6sp manual.