throttle body fix

05MK4TDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Volkswagen Jetta BEW
I have a 2005 Volkswagen Jetta 1.9 L TDI PD that i just bought 2 weeks ago off the original owner. it has 225k miles on it, and after some daily driving and some very very expensive fluid changes, i got a check engine light... took it to autozone and ran the code to find out my Throttle body needed to be replaced. called up my VW dealer and they wanted $695.33 for the throttle body ALONE. that’s with no install fees tacked on. i bought this car for $2700 as a good, spirited daily with good fuel milage. spending 700 bones on a throttle body seems ridiculous.
here are my questions, as i’m extremely new to the volkswagen, and the TDi world
1) are there any sensors that could trip the check engine light to go off for the throttle body
2) if not, are there any cheap, yet reliable replacement parts on the market?
3) should i not worry about it?
it’s been hard trying to get this thing up to tip top shape, even though it’s a very solid car. i’ve only had it for like 2 weeks and i already love this thing to bits. i don’t want to buy a volkswagen replacement, because i’m currently saving up for a timing belt service which is going to run me $1700 from the dealership service center. thanks for reading, and any directions to help me pinpoint my issue and help me get this thing back to mint condition will be EXTREMELY appreciated.

cheers!
-Jaxon (Gilbert Arizona, USA)

BobnOH

not-a-mechanic
TDI
New Beetle 2003 manual
I doubt it needs a new throttle body. Generic scanners often get the wrong diagnosis. Try to find a TDI mechanic, belt service is pricey, but $1700 is too much. Even if you need to drive an hour or so to a good TDI mechanic, it will be worth it.

05MK4TDI

Veteran Member
TDI