What did you do to your MKIV today?

SilverGhost

Veteran Member
TDI
'05 Golf - totaled :(, wife's '13 Beetle - buy back, TDIless
So, received harness for fog lights and and wired it up. Everything is swell except the euroswitch I’ve been using for 2 years is crap and fogs remain on with switch off. Oh, one of the h3 Hella bulbs I just received from Amazon will not light. To much time troubleshooting fubar equipment. I decided to have both upper and lower fogs come on together. New switch and bulbs ordered.

Just a note for the peoples republic of commifornia - vehicle code limits forward driving lamps to 2 pairs, one of which must be the low beams. I did DOT inspections for a truck service place for a while and had to know lighting rules.

I know other states this doesn't apply, or like here in So Flo they can't be bothered to pull you over for it.

Jason

Mozambiquer

Vendor , w/Business number
TDI
2004 VW Touareg V10 TDI, 2012 Audi Q7 V6 TDI, 1998 VW Jetta TDI. 1982 VW Rabbit pickup, 2001 VW Jetta TDI, 2005 VW Passat wagon TDI X3, 2001 VW golf TDI, 1980 VW rabbit pickup,

Nuje

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 Sportwagen; Golf GLS 2002 (swap from 2L gas); 2016 A3 e-tron
I'm always considering better lighting, but the midwest lighting solutions I didn't like - I felt like I was blinding people, even on low beams.

Anyone run these from ECS Tuning?

I tried a set of Spyder lights on my JSW a few years back and ugh - they were terrible. Totally uneven light pattern, spraying light all over.
I missed the return window, though, so built them up myself with a set of FX-R HID projectors and wowsa - now THOSE things put out some nice light!

Edit: I hadn't read KrashDH's reply before my response above, but basically, everything he stated accurately reflects my experience. Those projectors are designed for halogen bulbs, putting HID or LED in them will shoot light all over the place.