Recent content by pugman

1. P

Entire TDI family named "Worst Foreign Car Engine Of All Time"

I am not an expert but my definition of good vs bad engines is that a good engine will provide reliable if you can get 300K+ miles without any major issues. I have driven many different makes and all I can say is my current daily drivers are ALH Diesels. The one with the fewest miles is 364K...
  2. P

The 300k mile club!

I also have not been back on the TDI club for quite awhile. My 03 Jetta is now at 350,000 miles and still going strong. I will have to move the wife's Jetta over to the 400,000 mile thread as just this year her's has gone over 411,000 miles. Both 03 Jetta TDI's.
  3. P

Help with instrument cluster

This past week the clock stopped working with the Odometer/trip Odometer. Everything else still works. Could this be a ground as well and where would I find it? Car has over 362K miles on it.
  4. P

The 300k mile club!

To tell the truth, I tried about two years ago to get the wife in a newer Jetta SW but she would have none of it. She said that her SW was running just fine and did not want a car payment on a car that got about the same fuel mileage. She agreed that the newer ones were nice but she liked...
  5. P

The 300k mile club!

Joining in with two! First is the wife's 03 JSW auto w/341K. Then my 03 Jetta Sedan w/5sp at 321K. We hope to get to 500K or more before either of us have to replace (or rebuild the engine).
  6. P

Intermittent Dash Lights

All, it was the dash light dimer switch. I replaced it and now my dash lights are working as they should. Thanks to all hat responded.
  7. P

Intermittent Dash Lights

EB, thanks. I agree that it seems to be aground issue and yes, the grounds do look fine. I have been wrong in the past so I will use a wire brush on both grounds if the switch does not work.
  8. P

Intermittent Dash Lights

After checking the grounds I have ordered the dash dimmer switch. I will let everyone know how it goes.
  9. P