Recent content by mike837go

1. M

how many miles have you racked up on your TDI?

I took the cash for my 2013 Jetta sedan in 2017 with over 120,000 miles. In September of 2018, I 'rebooted'. Bought a fixed 2014 Jetta SportWagen with 21,000 miles. Both 6-speed manual transmissions. The 2103 would get 43-48 mpg using the car's odometer and the pump's legal-for-trade...
  2. M

Alternator output fluctuating

Antother potential problem with the brushes is that they could be stuck in the holder. Had that happen once. Coolant had gotten into the alternator and mixed with the carbon dust....
  3. M

Readiness Monitors taking forever......

The OBDII Drive Cycle must be completed. Although what a "Drive Cycle" is, varies by manufacturer. Generally, some low-speed driving (city traffic), some moderate speed crusing (country roads) and a good bunch of steady high-speed top gear running (highway).
  4. M

New to TDIClub? Introduce yourself here!

Because I am a computer professional who is responsible for making sure $200,000 of other people's money is properly accounted for, I was most upset at the fact that VW (with Bosch's help) got computers to misrepresent operating modes and pretend that the other mode didn't exist. Then a few...
  5. M

Yes, I know.. another pano roof survey..

I just bought (two months ago) a 2041 JSW 21,000 miles with the pano roof. Fell in love with the idea of all that glass! No issues so far with operation or ceiling leaks... However, I had major quatities of clear (rain?) water in the spare tire well. Allegidly that has to do with broken drain...
  6. M

Just wondering how many of us are still happy Mk6 owners?

"Happy Mk6 Owner"? I'd say, I ran the full gammut! The salesman who was involved with the deal for my 2013 Jetta TDI Sedan did hardly any work. The car was a winner. I put 120,000 miles on the car in 44 months without any major repairs. I was very angry at VW over Dieselgate. Took the money and...
  7. M

Jake brake in a TDI?