Recent content by Mark Hubley

1. Mark Hubley

CARB is starting to test fixes

Maybe somebody understands that taking a few hundred thousand cars (with plenty of useful miles ahead of them) off the road and sending them to crushers isn't exactly great for the environment.
  2. Mark Hubley

TDI Replacement : (

Here's a short video with an appearance from the Golf R. Move forward to about the 4:30 mark if you like. The Golf driver and I get held up by a guy in a Lexus who was both slow around the track and slow to give passes (should have been in a lower run group). Unfortunately, my Harry's Lap...
  3. Mark Hubley

TDI Replacement : (

Spent the day Wednesday driving my 2000 Carrera at Blackhawk Farms. My first time at that track. There was a guy in my group driving a Golf R. I'm no expert on Golf R's, and I didn't talk to the driver a whole lot. As far as I can tell from the tail-lights and the wheels, it looked like a...
  4. Mark Hubley

Dieselgate: Volkswagen to Spend Up to $14.7 Billion to Settle ...

Lower mileage cars have a positive mileage adjustment. Higher mileage cars have a negative mileage adjustment. Seems pretty straightforward to me. My 2015 currently has 26K miles, which is fairly high for a car driven for 15 months. When I do my calculation I have a slight negative mileage...
  5. Mark Hubley

Volkswagen's Clean Air Act violations on 2009+ TDIs spark huge recall, investigations

In regards to cars like mine with EA288 motors . . . It is my understanding that these cars are on the bad car list because they have the cheat software. Is that correct? Is anyone aware of any data that show cars with the EA288 motors are not EPA/CARB compliant in terms of actual emissions...
  6. Mark Hubley

80,000 miles service - DIY, Dealer or Mechanic