Recent content by JB05

1. J

Door Rust Repair (Amateur Hour)

I had scratch marks on my hood after wet sanding with 3000 foam backed pad. Could not get rid of them; so I sprayed over the scratches with SEM Blenz-In. Worked pretty well. I too used the rattle cans. Base paint from automotivetouchup.com and clear is SprayMax 1k.
  2. J

Headliner adhesive that works?

Headliner twisters is what I used on my Golf. Used 30 of them.
  3. J

Oil Drip backside of engine

A doggie collar on the hose you mention could help stop the leak. It did on my BEW. The collar replaces the clip which does not provide a good enough seal IMO.
  4. J

AFN engine stuck injectors - And injector wear?

My guess would be the use of the proper diagnostic tool, such as VCDS. Looking for injector balance which I have no experience with.
  5. J

Oscillating moan - rrRRrr - every other second at 65 mph

Was the noise there before all the work?
  6. J

Peeling Clear Coat

I can relate to the OP's concern. I too have to convince myself not to look for perfection when painting outdoors with rattle cans. I do have some rust which is almost an annual event to get rid of. The front of my hood has the most rust.
  7. J

Fuse 7 speedometer not working

Do your back-up lights work? They are also on fuse 7 along with the VSS.
  8. J

Trying to find out what something is in car ?

Two Winters ago I discovered, the hard way, that the antenna unscrews from its base. Broke off in a car wash which I don't often use. I was able to go back and retrieve it.
  9. J

P0726 crankshaft sensor replaced and still getting the code..

You most likely need a genuine sensor.
  10. J

2000 jetta drivers seat not locking

I too had to lube the retracting/locking pin which was stuck in the retracted position. I took the whole assembly apart and sanded both the pin and the housing into which it slides. Lots of corrosion.
  11. J

Best method to splice in abs sensor wire harness to car? (2002 ALH NB right front)?