Recent content by Ian F

1. I

2003 jetta wagon value

It'll depend a lot on how quickly you need to sell the car. I own a 2003 5 spd wagon and I can tell you right now there's no way I'd pay $6-8K for one right now. Realistically, the buyer-market for these cars is dwindling. For the average car buyer, this is a 12 year old used car. Even...
  2. I

Project Phoenix: The Wagon Rising.

Awesome work! I'm also a PA resident and I agree with your plan to use the parts from the gold wagon to refurb the TDI. While mechanically, swapping the engine into the gold wagon may be easier, the way registrations and inspections work in PA, it would be a royal PITA to get a TDI-swapped...
  3. I

GTD in 2015?

To heck with the GTD. I want VW to bring over THIS! :p http://www.volkswagen.co.uk/new/xl1 Bearing in mind, I was all set to trade in my TDI for an Aptera before they went belly-up... :rolleyes:
  4. I

700 Mile club Who's in?

My car has been pulling 700+ mile tanks with some regularity over the past few months, which is a bit surprising given it has over 300K miles and a wonky turbo. The light came on at 645 today. Whether I hit 700 will depend on where I fill up after work. I have the GT6 and the Mini if I want...
  5. I

sharing responsibility for broken timing belt?

I tend to agree. I was on this site learning as much about TDI's as I could before I even ordered my car.
  6. I

Mk4 Jetta wagon 2" hitch receiver

While I know you seem quite confident in what you've put together, I look at it from an engineering POV and it scares the piss out of me. Sorry. :( I can't imagine any professional welding shop accepting the potential liability of putting something like this together. Maybe if you paid them in...
  7. I