Recent content by doug1976

1. D

Need Help: Turbo wind noise and Jump in power at 2200 RPM

Friends - 2006 Jetta TDI BRM, 220,000 miles, 5 speed Manual - Issue engine wind noise up to 2200 RPM and then quiets down and noticable jump in engine power. No Check Engine Light. I'm not an expert on turbo diesels but heard of the term waste gate. Could my waste gate be exhausting air...
  2. D

For Better or Worse - 200,000+ Miles with a 2006 Jetta TDI

Hope you haven't jinxed me. Never done anything with the coolant flange.
  3. D

For Better or Worse - 200,000+ Miles with a 2006 Jetta TDI

2006: Purchased a 2006 Jetta TDI BRM sitting on a used car lot with 16,000 miles. 5 speed manual. Car looked and smelled new. The lot owner drove it to my work and told me car still under warranty, etc. These vehicles were hot and in short supply as fuel prices were going up. I had a...
  4. D

Delayed Air Conditioning

Another Success Story Changed RCV on my Jetta MK5 and had shop pull vacuum and recharge. All is good. But they did say that system was low of Freon. All is good now.
  5. D

Rebuilding BRM Injectors? and what to do about dropped socket in engine

Tools in Sump All Gone Recovered all the parts with a magnet during an oil change. Oil Pan was recently pulled for another job and nothing was found. So I must have fished them all out during the oil change. Still have 4 injectors looking for someone to rebuild them.
  6. D

HELP! 2006 Jetta TDI Stalling

Mechanic says he has my stalling issue fixed. After changing fuel filter -nofix, pressure regulator-no fix. I convinced him to install an OEM lift pump I was saving. He was sure that wasn't it because he could hear the pump working and it filled the filter housing. But then he noticed that the...
  7. D