Recent content by Dennis T

1. D

Black smoke. Not upshifting.

Howdy Folks. Warning: I'm a newbie. Anyways, my '04 jetta tdi 1.9l starts and runs beautifully. Occasionally however, when I'm accelerating, transmission has a hard time upshifting and embarrassing black cloud ensues. If I ease off then slowly accelerate again it usually upshifts and smoke goes...
  2. D

'06 Jetta Engine Stalling

Hmm, that sounds like a complicated, expensive venture. I'm used to just banging rocks together. I will research this thing of which you speak. Thank You.
  3. D

Next conquest will be to try to get steering assist yellow warning icon to go out.
  4. D

I guess my car had "auto erotic issues". LOL Seriously, I've had clogged fuel filters and/or ran out of gas before (usually GM) but nothing ever acted like this jetta. Man, smoking, pinging, lurching. I thought for sure my turbo seal or timing chain were pooched. Scanner comes up P2564(turbo...
  5. D

Thanks very much to tdi forum members for the advice on engine stalling. I replaced fuel filter. So easy and reasonably priced I got greedy and replaced air filter too. Good thing too because as filthy as fuel filter was, air filter was way worse. Totally full of crap and cracked to the point...
  6. D

Yeah, thanks. Maybe it's just me but I haven't noticed and vw stn wagons here in ontario. Now that I seen one I'll probably see them all the time now. Gotta head off to work now but I'll get out my scanner later and see what we got. The harness issue could be a good lead to because it does some...
  7. D

Didn't know what you meant sedan/wagon. LOL. I reckon it's a sedan. For some reason I can't picture a VW station wagon. I'll have to search images to see what a vw jetta station wagon looks like.
  8. D