Recent content by Crusty

1. C

AHU won't rev above 2400rpm

I’m not an expert on the circuitry, but in the car, the brake light circuit will limit the capability to accelerate until the brake circuit is stopped (lights out). Maybe you have an issue with that signal in your wiring??
  2. C

IP top and bottom seal how-to (?)

I would also like to say thanks to corrado tdi. Got my parts fast, and it was easy to do
  3. C

1998 Jetta P1403 easy question

I might need help with the output test. I used a regular OBD II reader to get/ clear the codes. If I understand you correctly, the N18 would be the one just under the fuel filter, kind of below the intake tube coming from the air filter box. I read the writeup, and once I can find the valve, I...
  4. C

1998 Jetta P1403 easy question

This is an easy question: where is the N18 valve physically located on an MK3 Jetta? I could only find pictures for the newer ones. Back story. I got a ”no power” condition, and figured at 300k the car needed some love. I cleaned the engine bay and put in new fuel and vacuum hoses, and cleaned...
  5. C

The "What did you do to your B4 today" thread...

I don’t post a whole lot-mostly because I’m out just driving the Jetta:D but I pit new fuel lines on the car, and today I put in a new kenwood stereo. While I was at it, I got a new light bulb for the heater control. Not earth shattering, but I want the car to get all fixed up. I drive it about...
  6. C

Does anyone still daily drive an AHU

I daily drive my 98. I had a 2014 sport wagon that VW bought back, and I was glad to get the 98. The fuel efficiency makes driving a pleasure. Instead of worrying or trying to over plan trips, I just drive. I love it!
  7. C

98 Jetta cranks but won’t start