Recent content by 86turbodsl

1. 8

Buyer beware clutch masters fx300 with Whitbread flywheel

FWIW, i remember reading somewhere that Whitbread wasn't able to get any vendors except Clutchmasters to work with him on his flywheel. I have no doubt that he'd prefer to use a more reliable supplier than Clutchmasters.
  2. 8

B5.5 conversion transmission

I got a 01E trans alone from Franz a while back, seems like it was right around 1000USD. You'd need the FWD only version, but i would think it should be close in price. Mine was AWD for my Audi.
  3. 8

6 speed options for B5.5 4motion tdi conversions

Should be able to use any Audi A4/A6 manual transmission in that car, assuming you are adding an equivalent ratio rear axle. I have no experience with B5.5 chassis so i don't know what rear axle setup will fit that car. I'm assuming there are floor pan differences but i don't know that for sure.
  4. 8

Viable A4 Quattro tdi swap options

There's decent B6 and B7 out there that are well taken care of. You just have to look harder. Maybe the trailer parks around Florida and other senior communities? Probably won't have a M/T if that's what you're after, but will likely be low mile and good shape.
  5. 8

TDI swap with AC/Heat into classic?

You don't need to match the evap case/evaporator to the compressor. There's nothing significant to the design of the VW compressor that precludes its use with a vintage air system for the C10 or whatever you choose to use. If it were me, i would go with a clutched VW compressor that matches...
  6. 8

BHW short block limits

That's pretty good. I was thinking compounds already.
  7. 8

BHW short block limits

Yeah i know about Whitbread. I have a buddy that spends all his money there. I'm an engine development engineer. Since everybody is moving to EV's including my employer, i will have to get my jollies building my own stuff. I'm trying to data mine the community rather than spending all my...
  8. 8

BHW short block limits