1998 jetta P0605

cheezed2meet

TDI
1998 jetta
hello all,
so I picked up a couple 98 jetta's. one had a check engine light when I got it, I have a vagcom, reading the codes, it was a glow plug code, I replaced glow plugs and harness, code is gone, but a new code appeared after maybe 10 miles of driving. P0605, which is a ROM error in the ecm. when driving, on accel from dead stop, its sluggish in first gear up until about 1500rpm, then has plenty of power and accels fine through rest of gears. this is my first ahu tdi, so I am no expert on them. I also discovered a connector on the passenger side with the wires broken from the connector and touching each other, ??possibly intake manifold temp sensor??, could the wires touching have shorted something in the ecm? what should my next move be to figure out my issue?

Steve Addy

Top Post Dawg
TDI
97 Mk3
Hey
Have you gone through and conducted all the maintenance that's probably not been done over the years? Air / fuel filter etc etc? I wouldn't run it all that long until you get the timing belt done, it's never safe when you don't know when that was last done. Five years or 60k miles, which ever comes first.

You didn't mention how many miles are on these either...that would be good to know.

You'd have to figure out exactly what sensor has the bad connection in order to know whether it affects the ECU. A photo of the sensor showing where it's located would help.

Steve

Rig

Veteran Member
TDI
1998 Jetta TDI, 210k miles
I also discovered a connector on the passenger side with the wires broken from the connector and touching each other, ??