Chirping sound from front end.

Arthurartel

TDI
2004 Jetta
Hey guys,

My 2004 Jetta TDI started making some unsettling sounds out of the blue this afternoon as I was driving it. I turned a corner in town and I got some chirping from the front end. I then drove another 10 miles and was in a parking lot when the noise got really bad. Now whenever I turn my wheel, I get a loud chirping noise. The engine also idles a little loud and has a much quieter chirping undertone.

I did some research when I was back home and from what I'm seeing, it's most likely a problem with the alternator pulley. Being a college student, I can't really afford to take it to a shop to have it diagnosed and fixed professionally. Going off of what I've described, can I safely assume that it's the pulley, or are there other options that I ought to look into? I really don't want to go through the trouble of replacing the pulley, just to find out that it was actually the belt.

Thanks for the help y'all!

Mongler98

Top Post Dawg
TDI
98 Jetta TDI AHU 1.9L (944 TDI swap in progress) I moved so now i got nothing but an AHU in a garage on a pallet.
Welcome to the forums, the diagnosis and testing can be very easy and strait forward. You should be able to do all the work yourself

The 1st thing to do it takes off the belt. Start it up again see if it continues.
Wiggle things by hand. It will be obvious if it’s a pulley or clutch on the alt or ac. check your PS fluid too.
It can also be the harmonic balancer.
Take the timing cover off too. you want to check the water pump for any leaks or pink/blue crust around the pee hole, usually when the pump fails it leaks out of the a small hole to let you know.
The issue with the water pump is that if it DOES fail it will take out the timing belt and trash the engine and you do not have the $ or time to fix that.
I do not think it is the water pump as it gets worse when you turn hence my suspicion of the power steering pump.