'04 Sir Limps A Lot; the saga continues

Zeitgeist

Veteran Member
TDI
'04 Variant and Vanagon mTDI
We just bought an '04 Passat TDI wagon w/188k miles, which I've been lusting after for nearly two decades. I had to drive it back home in limp mode for over 60 miles, and it was bellowing embarrassingly large amounts of smoke. My OBD eleven scanner indicates that it has a P0299 Turbo Underboost, and P0101 MAF A-circuit Range/Performance as problematic. I cleaned the EGR valve and fixed some vacuum issues from the pump to the turbo actuator--no change. I'm going to order a new MAF just to have one on hand, but besides firing the replacement parts bazooka what else can I do to diagnose the limp issues?

I'll be ordering a Bentley...especially since we bought for our daughter, a '98 Passat 1.8t wagon w/125k miles on the same day as our TDI.

MukGyver

Veteran Member
TDI
2004 Jetta PD
Get underneath get your hand on the vnt actuator rod and move it back and forth thru its range. Vanes could be stuck open if it was granny driven babied etc.

Edit: just notice it was underboost its late im half asleep lol. You need a vcds to look at things like the requested vs actual boost is doing.

Last edited:

Zeitgeist

Veteran Member
TDI
I guess I should mention that I checked the turbo actuator and observed that it was moving its full range and held 20in. of vacuum. I'll check the IC plumbing next. Is there a good place to splice in a test boost gauge? Sorry for all the dumb noob questions, but I know nothing about PD engines, except that I periodically serviced my neighbor's Mk5 Jetta and for some reason his actuator was hard-wired into a fixed position--dunno what that was about.

Tom in PT

Veteran Member
TDI
2005 Passat sedan - SOLD; 2013 Passat DSG; both purchased new