Nozzle upgrade, IQ adjustment, and Tune

Jard

TDI
99.5 Jetta
I have been digging around the forums a few days now, and I am guessing I am not looking up the right combination of words. I am new to TDI's, but not wrenching.
I am not planing on doing any mods till I get the car all fixed up, but I am always trying to learn what I can to better formulate a plan for the long run.

If you get nozzles/hot swap injectors, from what I have read, you need to adjust the IQ.
If you get nozzles/hot swap injectors, and a tune at the same time, do you still need to adjust the IQ. Or is the IQ adjusted through the tune, by the tuner already?
Or
Am I miss reading some threads, and to adjust the IQ you have to do the hammer mod, because there is no software adjustment, or because the proper way is the hammer mod?

I have a lot to learn about vag-com inspections and adjustments. Reading tables and charts.

My plan for the car: 99.5 Jetta
get vag-com
injectors PP520
malone stage 2

I know once I start down this road it is going to morph into a custom stage 5 for the end game. I did the same thing with my 02 bugeye, before I knew it, I was full STI bolt on with a custom tune.................. darn it cars are addicting. :)
I do things very slow to start, it would probably be six months of research and asking and learning before I even start to purchase any items. But then when I do, I get everything at once.

Thank you for your time,
Jared

Nero Morg

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2014 A6 TDI, 2001 Jetta TDI, 2014 Passat TDI
Tune or no, if you change injectors, you have to adjust your injection quantity for smoke control, fuel eco, and slow down shudder :)

Jetta_Pilot

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2015 Passat Highline TDI Candy White (SEL Premium) long gone 2002 Jetta TDI