2015 Golf TDI long crank first start of the day

1945GPW

TDI
2005 Jetta 2015 Golf
Hey Guys!! I'm new to the form but have had diesel VW's for about 6 years now. I am more familiar with the MK4 Jetta's but recently purchased a 2015 Golf TDI and I'm really liking it.

Anyway as the title says I'm experiencing a longer than normal cranking period the very first start of the day. After that initial long start it starts normally through the day. What I mean by long crank is the engine turns over approximately 4 to 6 times before it starts. After the first start of the day it will crank about 2 turns and fires right up.

Is anyone else experiencing this and if so whats the fix for it? My golf has 24000 miles. I replaced the fuel filter and its not any better. I'm thinking the HPFP is possibly de-priming over the night causing the extra cranks, what are your thoughts? thanks

1945GPW

TDI
2005 Jetta 2015 Golf
Don't tell me I'm the only one having this issue lol

sands80

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 Golf TDI 6MT SEL
My 2015 has the same exact issue. I too chalked it up to fuel pump depressurizing over night- but sometimes it sits over night, quickly starts in the AM.
It seems random.

Somebody posted a similar thread a while back and I seem to remember that it was suggested that the owner find someone with a VCDS scanner to read and errors that may come up during startup that may not be enough to trip the check engine light.

It may be a crank position sensor ? but I think that would throw a CEL...

As for the battery - mine was replaced for a different issue (leaking acid), but the long crank time symptoms remained.

marcusku

Veteran Member
TDI
Golf Sportwagen, 15', red