No more USB Hex-cam? (or is this just news to me?) Also VCDS-lite question.

JSWTDI09

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2009 JSW TDI (gone but not forgotten)
The requirement to register a VIN comes when you start doing invasive stuff like coding changes, basic settings, adaptations.
The problem with this (to me) is that most of the things that I have done to/for other people's cars with VCDS are (in Uwe's terms) invasive. I have only scanned and reset fault codes on probably 5 or 6 cars total (including my own). However, I have changed coding, basic settings, and done adaptations on far more cars. I am not a mechanic for a living. For example:

Coding to fix aux input on Premium 7 radios - at least 6 cars (including my own).
Coding to enable windows up/down with remote - at least 10 cars (including my own).
Coding to enable sun roof closing with remote - at least 3 cars (including my own).
Coding to enable Rain/Light sensor on Passats - 2 cars (not mine)
Coding to enable indirect TPMS - 1 car (not mine)
Coding to disable cold diagnostics on some LED bulbs - at least 3 cars (including mine).
Basic Settings to run fuel pumps on CRs - at least 3 cars (including my own).
Basic Settings to run ALH timing checker on 2 MKIVs (not mine)
Advanced coding to adapt DPF pressure sensors - 3 cars (not mine, yet)

This list is certainly not complete and some of the coding was done to the same car, but my point is that my HEX+CAN cable has done coding, adaptations and basic settings on far more than 10 vehicles since I have owned it. I am quite glad that all my Ross-Tech stuff is unlimited.

Have Fun!

Don

turbocharged798

Veteran Member
TDI
99.5 black ALH Jetta;09 Gasser Jetta
I suspect the price of old cables is going to skyrocket especially the ones that work with later cars. To get the same functionality you need to pay almost $500 now. I would snatch up old cables while you can.

jetta 97

Vendor
TDI
2 X Jatta MK5 2006