Fuel Additive

cp

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 TDI Beetle
I guess you never worked in an engineering department in manufacturing. I did and if it wasn't a problem in the factory it wasn't deemed a problem to the company. Factory engineers are not gods just people payed to do a job that satisfies the requirements of the factory they work for. The solution to water in the fuel would have been buy good fuel "not my problem" what you as an owner of our product buys and uses is not our problem. You give these engineers to much credit.
You guessed wrong. As a matter of fact, I was an engineer at a manufacturing plant for 25 years.

surg7498

TDI
'03 Golf 5 Speed & '03 Jetta Wagon 5 Speed, 2015 Golf 6 Speed
well well well

You guessed wrong. As a matter of fact, I was an engineer at a manufacturing plant for 25 years.

:):p:)

I did happen to actually laugh out loud!!

such great discussion on additives. I wonder where these people are purchasing fuel with all this water problem?? Have I just lucked out and never encountered it?

MichaelB

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Passat SE DSG
:):p:)

I did happen to actually laugh out loud!!

such great discussion on additives. I wonder where these people are purchasing fuel with all this water problem?? Have I just lucked out and never encountered it?
QUOTE=cp;5061748]
That's right; the factory doesn't recommend anything. I find it difficult to believe that the 'water in the fuel' problem has completely escaped the attention of VW AG's engineering department. [/QUOTE]

Laugh all you want but this is the statement that led to my engineering bash. Yes I worked in engineering as I said engineering is a very very vague term. I'm sure VW AG's engineering department created the whole emission cheat too.:rolleyes: Who knows if the fuel you have bought in the past might have had a water issue and it just hasn't raised its ugly head yet.

Last edited:

cp

Veteran Member
TDI
2006 TDI Beetle
Trouble in River City!