Removing TDI on cars trunk....

ZippyNH

Veteran Member
TDI
2015 JETTA TDI SE
Anybody thinking of removing their TDI emblems from their car?
Not exactly cause I am ashamed, but in a real sense...maybe....
Hate to say I am no longer proud to be driving a "clean Diesel"...
kinda hard to brag about 50 MPG when the car did it by cheating the rules....

czeetah

Veteran Member
TDI
2014 Passat 6MT / Opera Red
Just get an extra badge so you have an extra T and take off the DI and replace it with IT so it spells TIT.

People might be anti TDI but no one could argue against tit.

IndigoBlueWagon

TDIClub Enthusiast, Principal IDParts, Vendor , w/
TDI
'97 Passat, '99.5 Golf, '02 Jetta Wagon, '15 GSW
Honestly most people don't know what it means, even if they bother to look. And since VW has TDI and TSI badges on its new cars, I think it's even less likely they'll notice.

I mentioned VW to a couple of friends yesterday and neither of them had heard anything about it. Same for my daughter, who drives a VW (gasser). Don't con yourself into thinking that most of the world is paying any attention to this.

deejaaa

Veteran Member
TDI
FOR SALE, 2002 Jetta GLS, 5 speed
I removed mine 3 years ago because I didn't want badges on the trunk. I need to get an extra T now! didn't think of that.

k1xv

Veteran Member
TDI
09 TDI sedan, sold back 12/16. Present cars 2013 BMW X5 diesel, 2015 Corvette convertible
Put a little pirate flag decal next to it.

pparks1

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Passat TDI SE
Anybody thinking of removing their TDI emblems from their car?
Absolutely not.

to say I am no longer proud to be driving a "clean Diesel"...
I was never "proud" about emissions. I didn't boast how my car was superior than any other car with respect to pollution. I only talked about it's size, it's fuel efficiency, it's long range, and it's affordable price tag. None of that has changed a bit.