TDI Used Oil Lab Analyses Results & Discussions

nickfancher1

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 Beetle TDI - 39k - DSG
Well I did a UOA on my 2004 VW Beetle TDI, my notes to Blackstone were that I found that the air filter hose had fallen off at some point and put it back on. I found this about 2,000 miles into the oil change so I'm not sure how long it was off. Probably not any linger because the dealer had done some other work to it and he probably didn't put it back on. Anybody have some insight as to what's going on here with the high iron? I know these cars are known for eating cams. Should I drain the oil and put some Mobil 1 TDT 5w40 in it? I've got 1,300 miles on this oil change (a little over 2 weeks, it's supposed to say March 13th was my UOA date).

[/quote]

shuswap

Veteran Member
TDI
05 Golf TDI BEW auto
I'm no expert, but you're at the same mileage as I am and my cam is quite heavily worn. But then, I first noticed significant wear 5 years ago, probably 125k miles back and it's changed somewhat, for the worse, but I'm holding out for the next Tbelt change, when I'll do the cam/lifters and everything that touches the Tbelt also.

Anyway, 5 years back some wise fellows (here) suggested I use Shell T6 or Mobile1 TDT oil and I'm now a believer in their anti-wear qualities. You don't mention what you've been using?
BTW, it takes 30 min to inspect the camshaft, why not do this easy inspection and find out if that is an issue?

SFHGolfTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2002 Jolf GLS TDI - Reflex Silver (purchased 2011) | Previously: 2001 Golf GL TDI - Indigo Blue (sold 2005)
I just got my oil analysis back on an extended OCI. The main concern is lead. I am going for a 15k OCI, and did this test around at 12.5k to see how things were going. Over the weekend, I went on a 1k road trip, so am now at 13.5k.