GTG Chapin, SC January 25, 2014

paramedick

TDIClub Enthusiast, Vendor
TDI
2015 Audi Q5 TDI
I am new to the TDI scene and have some issues that need to be addressed but would rather do it under supervision. My MK3 has 191k miles and I'm pretty sure the intake has never been cleaned. It has extremely low power when the MAF is plugged in but runs fine (to me) when unplugged. The previous owner ran it like this for years. I suspect it to be the intake being gummed up. I have no clue what other issues might be there since my CEL never turns on. I also need to replace the Crank Case Vent Tube and need to verify timing. Is it possible to tackle all this at the GTG? I'll bring whatever parts/tools that might be needed and some cash. I'm in the Coast Guard and need to get this thing tip top mechanically since I'll be traveling from Mississippi to Charleston Sc numerous times next year. I expect to put 60k miles at least this upcoming year.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Please start pre-treating the two EGR pipe to exhaust manifold nuts with a good penetrating agent. They like to strip due to corrosion, and access to one of them is limited.

augie dog

Veteran Member
TDI
1996 Passat
Thanks for the offer! I would like to check out Dreher Island because my wife and I are big campers and always looking for that next great campground. This would be a new one for us. At this time I am planning on attending. I will be leaving January 23 and staying to the 26th. Weather and realibility of my Passat dictate wether I will be there or not. I will keep your place as second choice. How far from your location is Dreher Island? Thanks again!!

drewkeen

Veteran Member
TDI
Jetta
Please start pre-treating the two EGR pipe to exhaust manifold nuts with a good penetrating agent. They like to strip due to corrosion, and access to one of them is limited.