Bought a 2011 Golf TDI today, having troubles with manual transmission

Cgiroux

TDI
none
I bought a 2011 Golf TDI today. I am ecstatic. It is a black 4 door. I thought I'd be adventurous by getting a manual transmission. I never drove MT in a car before, but I have a motorcycle license, so I have some experience using a clutch.

So I'm in the car, I'm in the dealer's garage ready to take her home. Surely enough I stall 2-3 times, but I get going on the road and hear beeping and smell a bit of smoke. I pulled over as soon as I could and I realize the parking brake is still on. I feel like an absolute MORON. I take the parking brake off, get going a bit, and I stall again a few times. I probably stalled 10 times the entire trip home and I felt like I was making progress as I went along.

I was definitely abusing the clutch. I just told myself; "when in doubt, use the clutch" and I was riding it the entire time. My foot was never on the dead pedal.

I pull up into my driveway, which is a very slight hill and it was difficult to get power / find the friction zone and I was nervous because my mom was right in front of me watching me pull in. I shut the car off. Next thing I know, my mom is telling me the car is literally smoking.:( I never felt so embarrassed in my life. I just essentially just told my mom that it was a manual transmission and it was smoking because I was abusing the clutch and that it is 'normal'.

I am super embarrassed right now but how worried should I be about the car? Does it sound like I caused any damage?

6DOF

Veteran Member
TDI
2011 TDI Jetta 6MT Premium, 2012 TDI Jetta DSG Premium
After a week of practice you will get used to the clutch feel. You may want to search the forum for the VW "hill assist" feature. That takes some getting used to as well. As for damage, as long as the smoke stopped, you should be OK :cool:.

Ol'Rattler

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2006 BRM Jetta