www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Old November 8th, 2004, 15:10   #1
csblunt

Fuel Economy: 51.5 / 43.9 / 33.2
Default Help - Malfunction indicator light (MIL) is on

Hoping someone here can help me. I'm pretty new to the self-maintenance and repair of my 2003 TDI (just moved to a house so can stop using the stealership HOPEFULLY!) and need some advise / recommendations. As I was driving home this evening my MIL light came on.

I have a couple of questions - 1) I'm supposed to drive to Chicago in the morning (about 250 miles each way) am I SOL? 2) I've done a couple of services / "upgrades" in the past week - could any of these contribute to this? I did the Ventectomy, the "Mandatory Service" that GeWilli strongly recommends (cleaning of the air screen (left intact)), as well as the MAF "fix" by adding the Dielectric connector grease to the MAF connector.

Doesn't appear that I've lost any power, and everything appears to be running fine - just the light illuminates. I have turned off / turned on the engine several times to see if it would clear - it does stay off for a couple of minutes and then comes back on.

Any suggestions / tips, or advise on my trip to Chicago or on correcting this problem without the involvement of being ripped of by the stealer?

Thanks for any assistance you can provide me.

Chris
csblunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 19:40   #2
Wingnut
Veteran Member

Fuel Economy: 4.5L/100km