2006 Jetta TDI Subframe Bolts and EGR

vonTrapp

TDI
2006 Jetta TDI DSG
Hi Folks.

I'm a reasonably competent mechanic...fix a lot of our own heavy equipment, trucks, hydraulic systems, electrical bugs etc. I don't know everything, but I'm hardly "new" lol

But lemme tell ya. This MkV Jetta TDI is kicking my arse. I FINALLY got the dang transmission out after giving up and just dropping the subframe. And of course, being tired and grumpy from lying on my back on concrete for hours on end, I just started undoing bolts without making alignment marks. Ugh.

Now according the Bently manual it seems I have to replace every single $#%^ bolt with a new one. Of course, it's Sunday, a long weekend, and all the parts places are closed. So, being as I work very long hours with our business, it's going to be weeks before I get this thing back together.

I am now remembering why I hated working on small vehicles :D

So here's the three questions:

1) Is it truly necessary to replace ALL the bolts on the subframe? This just seems crazy to me.
2) EGR: Screw it, I'm going to block it off and have it reprogrammed. It's definitely leaking right at the valve bushing. Is it fairly easy to install blocking plates and relocate the coolant lines later on?
3) Is anyone here "One with the Force?" I'm seeking a Yoda type Master who can just wave his (or her) wizened hand and Force Move this $%^#$# thing back together. At a minimum, please levitate the vehicle so I can stand up under it.

Ol'Rattler

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2006 BRM Jetta
Wow. You did not have to drop the sub frame. Completely unnecessary. The requirement is to replace every TTY bolt, no exceptions. I have no clue as to why this simple stuff needs to be so complicated.

Last edited:

vonTrapp

TDI
2006 Jetta TDI DSG
Wow. You did not have to drop the sub frame. Completely unnecessary. The requirement is to replace every TTY bolt, no exceptions. I have no clue as to why this simple stuff needs to be so complicated.