www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old July 31st, 2016, 09:11   #16
hotpocketdeath
Veteran Member
 
hotpocketdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Suwanee, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesl View Post
In the mean time, testing a PID accessing 06B2 will give you an updating soot load display, but it is kind of inconvenient to get to (back out of real time - settings - settings - manage extra PIDs - select PID - edit - scroll down to 'test').
There's an easier way.

In the Realtime display, you can add a "Push Button" (in display menu) and set it to "send OBD command". Just click it and put in the PID and it will send back the info you want.
hotpocketdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2016, 18:05   #17
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotpocketdeath View Post
There's an easier way.

In the Realtime display, you can add a "Push Button" (in display menu) and set it to "send OBD command". Just click it and put in the PID and it will send back the info you want.
I tried that, but nothing came back.
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2016, 13:07   #18
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default Soot level is in Torque beta now

I am happy to report that reading of the (estimated) soot level is working in Ian's latest beta version of Torque!
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2016, 17:03   #19
hotpocketdeath
Veteran Member
 
hotpocketdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Suwanee, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesl View Post
I am happy to report that reading of the (estimated) soot level is working in Ian's latest beta version of Torque!
Excellent

What kind of changes are there to allow you to pull the data? I have a feeling that there's more than just pulling byte "B" or byte "C".
hotpocketdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2016, 11:18   #20
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default

Ian (the Torque author) changed something internally in Torque to allow access to the mode 6 data from the equation handler. For now this only works in the beta version. There's probably more work to be done before it can make it into the production version of Torque; for example, a floating widget can not yet display these data.
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2016, 10:52   #21
unixb0y
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesl View Post
Ian (the Torque author) changed something internally in Torque to allow access to the mode 6 data from the equation handler. For now this only works in the beta version. There's probably more work to be done before it can make it into the production version of Torque; for example, a floating widget can not yet display these data.
I was looking at version 1.8.106 release notes and saw:

* Mode 6 replies can now be read by user PID

Is that what is needed?
unixb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2016, 15:28   #22
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default

Yes .
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2016, 07:54   #23
zaphod99
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Default

Is this working now with the latest (I have 1.8.140b) Torque?
If so, what is the PID formula?
zaphod99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2016, 19:30   #24
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default Soot formula

Oops, sorry, I never posted that.
The formula is ((R49<8)+R50)/100 . The PID is 06b2, the unit is g, and for max and min 100.0 and 0.0 will work.
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2016, 11:11   #25
bud_128
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moncton NB
Fuel Economy: ~45mpg (imperial gallons)
Default

So Am I right in assuming that this needs to be read with the key on and engine off to be close to accurate? I know running down the road I got it to read as high as 200g
bud_128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2016, 21:03   #26
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default

Nope. It's stuck for about 50 miles after the end of a DPF regeneration at the value before the regen, but you can read it whenever you want. Sometimes the computed soot load moves a bit down, otherwise it seems to be a pretty stable estimate, increasing (for me) about 0.1 g / mile.
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2016, 06:06   #27
hotpocketdeath
Veteran Member
 
hotpocketdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Suwanee, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesl View Post
Oops, sorry, I never posted that.
The formula is ((R49<8)+R50)/100 . The PID is 06b2, the unit is g, and for max and min 100.0 and 0.0 will work.
I totally flaked out and forgot all about this.

You wouldn't mind if I added that to my CSV would you?
hotpocketdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2016, 08:00   #28
Diesl
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chicago
Default Good idea

Of course not - you should probably also post your current link.
__________________
If it works, take it apart and find out why!
Diesl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2016, 16:38   #29
hotpocketdeath
Veteran Member
 
hotpocketdeath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Suwanee, GA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesl View Post
Of course not - you should probably also post your current link.
Thanks.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/vt48ogul9lgs650/VW.csv?dl=0

Good to see that Dropbox hasn't messed with the link for a while now. I'll try it out, but I think the max value might be a little high.

Last edited by hotpocketdeath; November 2nd, 2016 at 16:42.
hotpocketdeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2016, 08:47   #30
zaphod99
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Unhappy OBD2 adapter disconnects from Torque

I'm experiencing odd behaviour after adding the "soot" gauge to Torque.

The gauge seems to work ok (reading 70g), then after < 1min, Torque disconnects from my Bluetooth OBD2 adapter (cheapo aliexpress ELM327 clone) and will not re-connect until I power cycle the OBD2 adapter. If I remove the "soot" gauge all is back to normal, and no more disconnects. Weird.

Any idea what might be causing this?

I think I have a different OBD2 adapter laying around, which I will try and see if it behaves the same way. My phone is a Nexus 4, if that makes any difference.
zaphod99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Level Sensor False Reading vwfern VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 6 November 24th, 2013 22:10
Can Vag-Com adjust fuel level reading? shizzler OBD Scanners 3 August 4th, 2010 13:44
Messing with the Air Flow Meter Reading for tuning and to help combat soot? Possible? pietch TDI Power Enhancements 2 September 14th, 2008 04:57
Fuel Gauge isnt reading correct level cfm56 VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 6 June 20th, 2007 06:26
SOOT LOADING LEVEL IN TDI OIL SkyPup Fuels & Lubricants 27 November 24th, 1999 12:19


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.16020 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 130.56 Kb. compressed to 109.53 Kb. by saving 21.02 Kb. (16.10%)]