Bad washer fluid sensor? [New Rain-X formula not compatible with VW level sensor]

edman007

TDI
2012 Golf TDI
So I got a 2012 Golf TDI and last week the add washer fluid light came on and I filled it up (about 3/4 gallon) with the same stuff I've been using for the last two years, rain-x brand washer fluid, and the whole winter I've been using the winter stuff good to -25f (lowest it got this winter was about 5f). Anyways I filled it up and for the last two days the light has still been on, so I checked the tank and I can see fluid still in the filler neck so it's not low at all (and not leaking).

Is this a bad sensor? Could the fluid have caused this? Anyways it should still be under warranty (only 25k mi), I'm just wondering if anyone has seen and issue like this, should I just take it to the dealer?

dpg

Veteran Member
TDI
2013 JSW TDI, 2010 JSW - retired
Pull the connector on the sensor and see if it's corroded. At least it's a place to start. Or the connector may just be loose

inwerds

TDI
2014 JSW TDI DSG w/ pano
Just got my 2014 back from the dealer with the same issue. Apparently DO NOT EVER USE ANYTHING except the blue stuff. My car is 8 weeks old and the orange stuff corroded the sensor and needed to be replaced. Good luck

sent from space

rob c

TDI
2011 sportwagen dsg
yup. orange rain-x got me too...

I have the same issues...

Check this out - http://www.golfmk6.com/forums/showthread.php?t=72581

Which washer fluid are you using? I have two thoughts on what caused this. Polar Vortex or newer version of Rain-X with darker orange with new formula.

Going to VW tmw for washer fluid sensor.
I also had the light come on after using rain-x. Think there is something about it in the owners manual (that, or a wise vw independent mechanic told me to use only vw recommended fluid, can't remember which)....