www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old October 29th, 2013, 17:52   #1
phaser
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oregon
Fuel Economy: 47 MPG B-20
Default VCDS Port Test - CAN Not Ready

I'm trying to help a friend in Arkansas, 2004 Jetta TDI

See this thread: http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=398332

I shipped my genuine VCDS cable to him, and tried to assist over the phone tonight. He has the latest VCDS software, and running Windows 8.

When he does the port test, K1 OK, K2 OK, CAN Not Ready

Went ahead and selected his vehicle, and tried to scan for codes with auto function, and return message is: Function not supported by gateway.

So any ideas with what's going on with the VCDS and this car?
__________________
2004 Jetta BEW 5M - 340k - 47mpg B-20
Engine AME 15W-40 /
Transmission MTG 75w-90
Bypass EaBP90
/ Air EaA208

Last edited by phaser; October 29th, 2013 at 17:55.
phaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2013, 21:49   #2
tadawson
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lewisville, TX
Default

Not a CAN bus car perhaps?

- Tim
tadawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2013, 22:04   #3
JSWTDI09
Veteran Member
 
JSWTDI09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadawson View Post
Not a CAN bus car perhaps?
Correct, a 2004 (Mk4) Jetta is not a CAN bus car. The error message about "K1 OK, K2 OK, CAN Not Ready" is correct and normal. When doing the autoscan he cannot do the "auto detect" because that only works on CAN bus (2005.5+) Jettas. He has to open the drop down box and choose his car/engine (a Jetta with an ALH engine) before he starts the autoscan. If this is what he did, I'm not sure what is wrong. One thing to try would be to try accessing individual controllers one at a time instead of an autoscan. You might learn something.

Have Fun!

Don
__________________
2009 Jetta SportWagen TDI
Candy White/Anthracite; Build date: 01/16/09; Buy date: 02/09/09
Coveted Three Pedal Version, Big hole in roof
Dieselgeek Shortshifter & Panzer Plate (my favorite & my smartest mods)
2MicronTech Pure Flow and Contain Flow CR fuel system modifications

Last edited by JSWTDI09; October 29th, 2013 at 22:11.
JSWTDI09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2013, 01:55   #4
phaser
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oregon
Fuel Economy: 47 MPG B-20
Default

UPDATE

I assumed it was a North American Jetta and had him use 9M-Jetta IV as the chassis type from the drop down box.

I just ran his VIN number, it was built in Wolfsburg, Germany.

So the correct chassis type is 1J - VW Golf/Bora IV

Now able to scan.

Thanks for the replies.
__________________
2004 Jetta BEW 5M - 340k - 47mpg B-20
Engine AME 15W-40 /
Transmission MTG 75w-90
Bypass EaBP90
/ Air EaA208

Last edited by phaser; October 30th, 2013 at 19:51.
phaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2013, 14:16   #5
wmgeorge
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Iowa
Fuel Economy: 32/47
Default

I just got done using my VAG Scanner (official) for the first time. It was driving me nuts, it would test the USB port and connect one time and then lose the connection. Nothing in the instructions state that the green LED should be flashing to Red and back when its communicating correctly. But after I firmly pushed the connection into the car plug it started doing the flashing on and off, worked fine afterward.
Got the IQ adjusted and then changed the door locks to manual and then to unlock the car when the key is removed....Yeah!!!
The IQ was at 1.2 adjusted to 2.2 and my stuttering (sp) on slow down to idle went away.
__________________
Retired, Too many hobbies not enough time!
wmgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with VCDS test heartlandcycle VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 2 September 10th, 2011 14:49
Express Card RS232 serial port for vcds BobZ OBD Scanners 5 June 29th, 2011 18:13
Not ready for ODBII test--Can vagcom help? dr_bartolo TDI 101 4 August 10th, 2007 14:48
No comm. at test port? can I get codes manually? cruciform VW MKIII-A3/B4 TDIs 6 January 24th, 2005 19:07
no reading from test port? can I test - test port? cruciform VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 1 January 18th, 2005 09:03


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.12765 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 70.92 Kb. compressed to 62.40 Kb. by saving 8.52 Kb. (12.02%)]