www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old August 28th, 2013, 18:11   #1
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Question Limp Mode :(

Just had my TB done and now I have a limp mode problem. Prior to the TB change my timing was seriously retarded and just below spec. My car has .205 injectors and a Unitronic Stag 2 tune. I took the following logs to help diagnose the problem. From what i can see the MAF is working ok. What do I check next?

Error Code:
16618 - Boost Pressure Regulation: Limit Exceeded (Overboost Condition)

P0234 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent

Log 1
LOG 2
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2013, 04:54   #2
Monster1926
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Youngstown, oh
Fuel Economy: 45 mpg
Default

Check your vac lines to start.
Monster1926 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2013, 05:15   #3
LNXGUY
Veteran Member
 
LNXGUY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Barrie, Ont, Canada
Default

vac lines, vnt actuator, the vnt vanes themselves, etc.
__________________
Bill
---------------------

'05 Jetta TDI Wagon
Custom tuned by Mike @ TDTuning.com
LNXGUY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2013, 06:05   #4
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Default

After some Googling, I found the MKIV limp mode thread here: http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread.php?t=179589
My vac lines are original on my car, so 10 years old. So they are in dire need of changing. I would like to get some silicone lines, but I am having a hard time finding a vendor that ships to Canada at a good price. Any suggestions?
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2013, 13:47   #5
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Default

I found this on EBAY. I was wondering of anybody has used this supplier's product? Is there anything else I will need when swapping out the vacuum hoses?

As a side not, I'll be testing by vacuum pump, N75 and actuator this weekend. Hopefully I can narrow it down.
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2013, 14:18   #6
BobnOH
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: central Ohio
Fuel Economy: 50/45/35
Default

As a rule, I avoid ebay, but if you know what it is you're buying you can get some stuff.
McMaster-Carr carries a full line of sizes, color, etc., here in the states.
Look for a place like that.
Here is one in Canada, I'm sure there are others
BobnOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2013, 14:48   #7
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobnOH View Post
McMaster-Car
I contacted them already and they will not ship to Canada
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2013, 17:08   #8
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Default

Update!

Vacuum from vacuum pump = good
N75 works fine
Tried to apply a vaccum to the turbo actuator, no vaccuum possible at all! Noticed some rust particles in my Mity-Vac's lines. Took my phone and got this shot:


Looks like my actuator is rusted through. Is this thing easy enough to change out?

Last edited by The_Stealth; September 1st, 2013 at 17:14.
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2013, 17:19   #9
tonystdi
Veteran Member
 
tonystdi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Chesapeake, Va
Fuel Economy: 50+ mpg, 800 mile club
Default

I had my vnt actuator replaced and the Vacuum lines, years of limp mode gone. Bengone1 did mine, look real easy for a guy who knows what he is doing.
__________________
TonysTDI 2003 VW Jetta TDI, 540K+ miles,
miles, 2000 VW Jetta TDI 289K, 800 mile club, 1996 VW Jetta 2.0, 1990 VW Vanagon
540,000 miles......looking for one million! AARODRIGUEZ CORP.
tonystdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2013, 18:01   #10
thordehr
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Los Angeles
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Stealth View Post
Update!

Vacuum from vacuum pump = good
N75 works fine
Tried to apply a vaccum to the turbo actuator, no vaccuum possible at all! Noticed some rust particles in my Mity-Vac's lines. Took my phone and got this shot:


Looks like my actuator is rusted through. Is this thing easy enough to change out?

In the voice of the MythBusters guy, "Well THERE'S your problem!"

May as well get this kit....

http://www.idparts.com/catalog/produ...FS_ZQgodgUcAMg
thordehr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2013, 18:53   #11
H2O2H
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NY
Default

Recently confirmed mine was shot as well. (No over or underboost, just some lose of power and mpg's)

Ordered one from www.leftlanecars.com (they are on ebay as well) and they sell the Garrett ones.

They are other venders on here that sell them as well.
Only one vender responded to me on a Sunday. How they got my sale, and the free priority ship helped as well.

http://www.leftlanecars.com/parts-store/engine-parts/038198716-vnt-actuator/#cc-m-product-6116469782

Last edited by H2O2H; September 4th, 2013 at 18:49.
H2O2H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2013, 10:17   #12
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Default

Well I had my actuator replaced today. The sucker did not want to come off without a bunch of heat. Got it installed and adjusted (4" it starts moving, finishes at 18"). Put the skid plate back on and went for a drive. Now instead of uncontrolled boost, I had absolutely zero boost. Found that the check valve was finished. Got a replacement and now all is good so far.

I grabbed a few pictures of my old actuator, I'll post them when I get home this evening. It looks way worse than my first photo.
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2013, 15:11   #13
The_Stealth
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal
Default

As promised:
The_Stealth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 4th, 2013, 18:48   #14
H2O2H
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: NY
Default

Nothing duct tape can't fix. Tomorrow I replace one, will see how it compares.
Shouldn't look bad, since it leaks vacuum, not like yours, which never even saw vacuum, lol..
H2O2H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transmission in limp mode - how to reset / remove limp mode? nvr-enuf VW B5 Passat TDIs 7 August 26th, 2013 03:18
Limp Mode dogder VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 5 September 26th, 2011 11:16
Limp Mode r0nd3L VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) 3 May 28th, 2011 15:50
Limp Mode?? bagdwag TDI Power Enhancements 11 January 15th, 2011 09:40
Limp mode ... new everything, and still limp! big_worm81 VW MKIII-A3/B4 TDIs 6 September 29th, 2010 18:46


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.14153 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 115.35 Kb. compressed to 96.00 Kb. by saving 19.35 Kb. (16.78%)]