www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You




Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > OBD Scanners

OBD Scanners Discussions on using On Board Diagnostic (OBD) scanners/ Diagnostic Equipment related to TDIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 3rd, 2017, 09:49   #106
gassprint1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Knox iN
TDI(s): 2006 jetta
Default

i'm using an old dell studio 1737 with vista on it. from using the vcds, it seems like a simple dos base program that requires very little power to run it.
gassprint1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2017, 16:35   #107
jef@rosstech
Associate Ross-Tech Vendor
w/Business number
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: knoxville
Default

From our FAQ 1.4

Quote:
VCDS requires a computer running Microsoft Windows (the HEX-NET can be used with VCDS-Mobile on other platforms but that use is still in beta testing). A Laptop is most convenient but a desktop PC can also be used.
We recommend a PC running Windows 7, 8.1, or 10 with at least 2GB of RAM (single-core Atom�-class processors are no longer recommended).
http://www.ross-tech.com/vag-com/faq_1.php#1.4

XP was released in 2001. The last time XP was sold with a computer was about +7 years ago. In short, old computers are old computers. We do still have customers running VCDS on XP, but we do not support XP.

To that end, we do not do anything to prevent a Windows XP computer from running our software, so anyone can give it a go if they wish.
__________________
Jef blah blah blah
www.Ross-Tech.com

What should you do first with VCDS? AUTOSCAN!
jef@rosstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2017, 17:16   #108
JSWTDI09
Veteran Member
 
JSWTDI09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jef@rosstech View Post
We do still have customers running VCDS on XP, but we do not support XP.
In that case you should update your download page at Ross-Tech.com. The current download page for version 17.8.1 clearly states:
Release 17.8 works with Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, and 10 (both 32-bit and 64-bit)

Have Fun!

Don


__________________
2009 Jetta SportWagen TDI (gone but not forgotten)
2018 VW Tiguan SE (I wish it was a TDI)

Last edited by JSWTDI09; December 3rd, 2017 at 17:19.
JSWTDI09 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 09:26   #109
Pat Dolan
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Martensville, SK
Fuel Economy: 800km/1100km/tank
Default

Thanks for all of the very informative answers. It turns out, my yank software was autoenginuity, and they have long ago updated it to run on 64 bit bus systems up to Windows 10.

I will probably buy another toughbook, but either running 7 or later. Wish I was skilled enough to do this in a Linux environment, but I guess I will have to struggle along in the Windows world where they never seem to get things right or stable.
__________________
A4=2003 TDI Variant, A3=Golf CL, A2=2x1.6 Jetta TDs, Golf Syncro Country, A1=Scirocco Mk1 & 16v, Audi 5000TD, Porsche 924/M471 and a bunch of diesel trucks.
Pat Dolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2017, 19:00   #110
jef@rosstech
Associate Ross-Tech Vendor
w/Business number
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: knoxville
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSWTDI09 View Post
In that case you should update your download page at Ross-Tech.com. The current download page for version 17.8.1 clearly states:
Release 17.8 works with Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, and 10 (both 32-bit and 64-bit)
Thank you for pointing that out, the info has been updated to reflect our current policy/standards/whims/wines/beers/sodas ect ect ect.

The page now states:

Quote:
Earlier versions of Windows such as 2000, XP, and Vista might still work, but we no longer consider them supported.
__________________
Jef blah blah blah
www.Ross-Tech.com

What should you do first with VCDS? AUTOSCAN!
jef@rosstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2018, 22:13   #111
MrAsano
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Oceanside, CA
Fuel Economy: 40mph
Default

Sorry to bring this post back from the dead

I own a 99.5 Golf TDI and I recently had the fuel injection pump gaskets replaced by a mechanic. I now know I need to adjust the IQ because the engine is shaking all over the place.

So here is my question. In order to use the VCDS to adjust my IQ, the only thing I need to do is purchase the connector (~$10) the and VCDS-Lite Software ($100)? https://store.ross-tech.com/shop/vcdslitereg/

I just want to make sure before I spend money.

Last edited by MrAsano; May 4th, 2018 at 22:15.
MrAsano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2018, 23:25   #112
gassprint1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Knox iN
TDI(s): 2006 jetta
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrAsano View Post
Sorry to bring this post back from the dead

I own a 99.5 Golf TDI and I recently had the fuel injection pump gaskets replaced by a mechanic. I now know I need to adjust the IQ because the engine is shaking all over the place.

So here is my question. In order to use the VCDS to adjust my IQ, the only thing I need to do is purchase the connector (~$10) the and VCDS-Lite Software ($100)? https://store.ross-tech.com/shop/vcdslitereg/

I just want to make sure before I spend money.
chances are, that $10 cable isn't going to do anything but allow a generic scan. spend the 200 and get the proper setup to do everything. those generic cables are very much hit and miss ones....
gassprint1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2018, 14:43   #113
MrAsano
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Oceanside, CA
Fuel Economy: 40mph
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gassprint1 View Post
chances are, that $10 cable isn't going to do anything but allow a generic scan. spend the 200 and get the proper setup to do everything. those generic cables are very much hit and miss ones....
Ok thanks I appreciate it!
MrAsano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2018, 08:23   #114
Mako
Veteran Member
Default

Check your MFD for the LPH display. When hot and idling set it to read .6/.7 LPH using the hammer mod. Of course this is a quick fix for anyone without VCDS. It's surprisingly accurate.
Mako is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which VCDS Trimmy OBD Scanners 4 February 27th, 2013 22:22
MK5/MK6 VCDS lite vs VCDS Full?? storx TDI Power Enhancements 3 July 30th, 2012 11:15
VCDS or Not to VCDS, THAT IS THE QUESTION BRADFORDKO TDI 101 6 July 15th, 2011 21:21
used VCDS? ajbowman OBD Scanners 3 September 15th, 2010 18:06
Did I do this with the VCDS? Turbine Suburban VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas 1 August 9th, 2009 10:52


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2017
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2017, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.14468 seconds with 10 queries
[Output: 95.76 Kb. compressed to 82.33 Kb. by saving 13.43 Kb. (14.02%)]