www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > Upgrades (non TDI Engine related)

Upgrades (non TDI Engine related) The place of handling, lighting and other upgrades that do not relate to the performance or economy of the TDI engine. In other words upgrades to your TDI that don't fit into TDI Fuel Economy & TDI Engine Enhancements.Please note the Performance Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old December 6th, 2000, 07:06   #1
Torque!
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boston, Massachusettes, USA
Fuel Economy: 38 avg
Default Where should I tap for boost?

I am planning to install my new Autometer gauge soon.
One question:
Where did you tap for Boost?

There is more than one place I can do this and I am curious where other members decided to take their readings.


------------------
2001 Silver Jetta TDI GLS Auto
Cold Weather, Leather, Sunroof
(RIP 76' 330K Toyota Corona)
Torque! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2000, 07:47   #2
GeWilli
Veteran Member
 
GeWilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: lost to new england
Fuel Economy: you keep track?
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

we all tap Ric Woodruf and Turbo Steve for boost

Skypup put his in the flexible hose just before the EGR. Used silocone glue I think to seal it and hold it in place. A trust Swiss army knife awl punch made the hole i believe.

The closer to the intake the more informative I think it is supposed to be . . .
GeWilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2000, 07:56   #3
Torque!
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boston, Massachusettes, USA
Fuel Economy: 38 avg
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

LOL!

Silcone? The end hose had two possible brass fittings. I was thinking of looking through the Home center plumbing section for a better solution. Something that has a fitting and clamps over the hose.

You did answer my question about location. Closer to the intake would be better than closer to the turbo. I think there were prior posting about the pressure drop across the IC.


------------------
2001 Silver Jetta TDI GLS Auto
Cold Weather, Leather, Sunroof
(RIP 76' 330K Toyota Corona)
Torque! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2000, 08:06   #4
GeWilli
Veteran Member
 
GeWilli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: lost to new england
Fuel Economy: you keep track?
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

Check this thread for Skypup's setup: http://forums.tdiclub.com/NonCGI/For...ML/000352.html

This is his boost tap location - you should be able to see the glob o' goo holding the white pressure tube in place. . .
GeWilli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2000, 18:20   #5
Karl Roenick
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Clifton Park, NY, US
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

I did it sp's way too. i figured at the time that if i screwed up i could always do something else. i think people just drill a hole and thread a brass compression fitting in there. i don't think it blows off for them. mine has also been fine with the lol glue and presents no impediment to air flow that a fitting would, small though it may be.
Karl Roenick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2000, 05:45   #6
SkyPup
Guest
 
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

The best way to accomplish this is to remove the hard plastic intercooler hose right before the rubber intake hose that I tapped into. You can then drill and tap that hard plastic tube and install your Autometer brass fitting device in there.

I only installed it this way as seen above to be as close to the intake manifold as possible to measure real usable boost, however I was worried about excess wave pressures screwing up the gauge readings and/or the boost pressure not being read properly and if I screwed up somehow, all I had to do was replace the rubber hose instead of some more expensive intercooler fitting. I was planning on installing the brass fitting permanently as mentioned above, however, my original simple short and sweet method works just fine, so I have never changed it.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2000, 06:30   #7
Torque!
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boston, Massachusettes, USA
Fuel Economy: 38 avg
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

I like this better. I'm sure the surface area is not large enough for it to work its way loose but if I tap the plastic it will be sure to stay put. There shouln't be any change in pressure between these two points mentioned.
SkyPup, What pod did you use for the gauge? I ordered one for the Civic and will try to see if I can modify to fit well. If not I may downgrade to the 2 1/16" gauge so I can use the available pillar mount.

------------------
2001 Silver Jetta TDI GLS Auto
Cold Weather, Leather, Sunroof
(RIP 76' 330K Toyota Corona)
Torque! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2000, 07:18   #8
SkyPup
Guest
 
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

When I did this, there were no commerical boost gauge mounts available for the A4's, so I ordered a single A3 pillar gauge from Neuspeed and then customized it with a hot knife to install the much larger Autometer Liquid Oil filled Boost gauge. Worked fine for me then and still continues to do so.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2000, 07:25   #9
Torque!
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boston, Massachusettes, USA
Fuel Economy: 38 avg
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

Cool. I didn't think the housing would be big enough. I'll look at this and perhaps send the 2 5/8" Civic pod back.

------------------
2001 Silver Jetta TDI GLS Auto
Cold Weather, Leather, Sunroof
(RIP 76' 330K Toyota Corona)
Torque! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2001, 14:34   #10
PcolaTDI
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

talk about bringing up an ancient post. skypup, just wondering where you ran the boost line through the firewall. i'm installing a boost gauge on my '01 golf tomorrow, would it be best to run it through the same place you did? thanks alot
PcolaTDI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2001, 06:23   #11
Torque!
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Boston, Massachusettes, USA
Fuel Economy: 38 avg
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

I'll answer! Man this is an old post...

Most people have been running the feeds throught the firewall in the driver side dead center just above the pedals. Here you will find a large wire bundle that passes through. You can attach items to a coat hanger and carefully push it through into the engine compartment. In the engine bay you will be able to find the piece sticking out just left of the driver strut mount and about a foot down from the cowl. On golfs you may need to remove some whatzit that is hanging on a bracket in above this location. (I am unsure what the thing is but it is only on golfs). Back on the inside I just ran the feed up to the a-pillar behind the dash.
Torque! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2001, 07:08   #12
Vroom
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Windsor, Ontario
TDI(s): mrrobmora
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

I just ran my boost line through the firewall on the weekend... I tried using the bundle of wire that goes through over the brake & clutch but it was a PITA, and once I got through, I saw that the whole bundle was wrapped in tape inside the engine bay. I didn't want to start unwrapping, and I couldn't get it through on the outside of the tape, so I just used another route... an empty grommet about 4 inches above the accelerator. It's visible from the engine bay as well if you know where to look. If you use this one, make sure you poke it through from the engine bay so you don't lose it somewhere.
Vroom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2001, 11:15   #13
Kenbob
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: God's country (Texas)
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

Guys, sorry I didn't read this post earlier or I could have saved some installation grief. The absolute best place to run the boost sense line is through the opening in the firewall about 6 inches above the wiring bundle most have been using. There's a rubber plug stuck in the hole. All you do is remove the plug, poke a hole in it, slide the plug over the boost sense line, and reinstall the plug. If I had a digital camera, I'd take a picture. From under the hood, you can see the plug to the left of the brake booster. I'll try to look and make a more detailed description.

I learned this the hard way after fighting to go through the wiring bundle area. I remembered reading about an opening in the firewall and voila, der it were.

I tapped into the rubber hose at the outside elbow. I drilled a hole undersized and threaded the brass fitting in with silicone. First time I hit 26 psi, it did an impression of Captain Ahab sighting Moby Dick: "Thar she blows!". Pretty impressive acoustical signature. I reinstalled with safety wire around it for reinforcement and haven't seen any cetaceans since.
Kenbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2001, 13:35   #14
danix
Veteran Member
 
danix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

If I read this right, you blew the threaded fitting out of the intercooler hose? That's not good. I'm worried about tapping this tube. Perhaps we could make some kind of adapter post-intercooler tube and pre-hose?
I'll check it out.
danix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2001, 11:22   #15
Kenbob
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: God's country (Texas)
Default Re: Where should I tap for boost?

Not out of the intercooler hose, but the rubber elbow that goes from the hard plastic upper intercooler pipe to the intake manifold. Basically the same place Skypup mounted his. I guess the difference was the silicone sealant, as opposed to the goop he used. Safety wire solved the problem.
Kenbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.18617 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 115.69 Kb. compressed to 95.91 Kb. by saving 19.78 Kb. (17.10%)]