www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW B5 Passat TDIs

VW B5 Passat TDIs This is a general discussion about B5 Passat(>98 (2004-2005 in North America)). Non TDI related postings will be moved or removed.

Old March 24th, 2013, 04:01   #1
biged681985

TDI(s): 05 passat
Fuel Economy: 37.7
Default 05 passat fuel economy questions

i just purchased an 05 passat with 191k on it all stock. i have a back ground of working for several diesel shops working on diesel pickups but im a rookie at the vw diesels. im wanting to get the best economy i cant. so far i have two fill ups of 37 mpg. not bad compaired to what im used to driving. but im sure i can do several things to help fuel milage. i plan on cutting the cat and muffler out of it and putting a twister muffler on it to keep it from droning. i was also thinking of deleting the egr and cooler. i know it helps in the bigger motors but not sure if it does in these little tdi motors and if it requires a programmer to do it. any help would be greatly appreciated.
biged681985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2013, 04:21   #2
thundershorts
Veteran Member

I don't think you will improve much on your mpg. Cat delete sure won't help you at all, nor the egr. you may be best off with new air and fuel filters, using the best oil, and doing a trans service, and possibly some sort of tire upgrade. Some say the bs delete will add a mpg or two. In any event, if you've followed this forum, its imperative to address the bs issue before your mpg is reduced to zero.
Old March 24th, 2013, 04:55   #3
biged681985