www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2013 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old January 29th, 2013, 09:09   #1
dewainc1

Default 2000 Jetta stopped running, won't start

Newbie here. I drove the car on the prior day after a 3 day cold snap. I was driving for about 20 minutes and felt the engine slowing as I neared a stop sign. It died. Glow plug light comes on, all lights come on, engine cranks but doesn't start. I had heavy smoke after starting since I bought the car in June of 2012, but thought it was normal because it is my first TDI. The check engine light is intermittent, and not predictable at all. It just comes on at random times. Any thoughts?
dewainc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2013, 10:27   #2
Walley

Hey. Welcome! I was reluctant to post because I am also a noob, but screw it.

First how cold did it get? In Ohio we saw single digits last week, but now we are above 50F. Single digits shouldn't stop a TDI full of winterized fuel and/or some Power Service.

My guess is that your check engine light (CEL) and loss of power/no start are unrelated.

Do you run biodiesel?
Do you have a full tank of fuel?
Do you use an additive to prevent gelling?
Have you changed your fuel filter recently?

The intermittent CEL could be many things...Search the forum for someone local with VAG_COM who can scan your car and identify the code. May be a bad coolant temperature sensor, or a bad theromostat. If yes, change them both at the same time AND get those parts from the dealership (there have been some bad sensors being sold at parts stores).