CP3 Pump Install Experiments.**Big Picts**

2micron

Vendor
TDI
None
Hello All,
This has been a very fun project so far, very rewarding and full of twists along the way.
First off, several people have contributed so far:
TDISyncro first dreamed and promoted the idea to install a CP3 Pump on a VW 2.0 Common Rail.
He also supplied valuable parts and helped with Critical Measurements.
Karter59 and Tyrel supplied the block and Crankshaft.
Redneckdiesel supplied the Alternator and A/C pump.
My buddy Daryl was a huge help in the Electronics of the test bench to drive and map the Fuel delivery.
I am no expert at anything, but do enjoy experimenting and also always have fun learning from others knowledge and my mistakes!!
Here's a quick intro to the project this far. I am still working on the belt drive and tensioner system, but getting closer.
Mock up Motor - early stages.

Vibration testing on the Rail to Measure The Pump "Pulses"
Here's a video showing the car running with the CP3 pump, driven by a 1950's Gravely Lawnmower!!
http://s1059.photobucket.com/albums/t428/2micron/?action=view&current=DSCI0496.mp4
Still a ways to go, but still having fun and enjoying the project!
I will share and update as it progresses.
All the best!,

Last edited:

kjclow

Top Post Dawg
TDI
2010 JSW TDI silver and black. 2017 Ram Ecodiesel dark red with brown and beige interior.
Interested in seeing how you get the cp3 into the engine compartment. Thanks for your help and good luck going forward.

53 willys

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Sportwagen TDI~LOVE/HATE~
Great work Andrew!!!
when you get a minute hurry....I'm up to 80,000 miles in a few days...I need a CP3 for my car before 100,000 when my warranty expires..;-)
lol

2micron

Vendor
TDI
None