www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old August 23rd, 2012, 00:14   #1
scottyboy553

Default no boost until 2.5k rpm!

hi
first of all im new to the tdi forum and already im posting for help,i have a golf tdi anniversary edition and friday night the turbo let go,anyway fitted new/remanufactured turbo yesterday and now the car will not come on boost until 2.5 rpm,theres no fault codes wot so ever so im puzzled as to what could be the problem,ive unplugged the maf and i get no boost at all so that seems fine,all pipes are on correctly and the problem was not there with the old turbo unit.So guess i could do with a little help guys if you would be so kind,all suggestions welcome.thanks in advance scott.
scottyboy553 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 03:44   #2
DanG144
Veteran Member

This sounds as if your turbo is staying at the minimum boost position.
What year car is this? What engine?
If it is a VNT turbo, does the turbo actuator move to the stop set screw when vacuum is applied?
DanG144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2012, 03:44   #3
Ol'Rattler
Veteran Member

It would really help to know what year and engine code you have.

Were did you get the new turbo? If it is a re-man than you may have wasted your money.

Could you explain how the old turbo failed? If it came apart, parts of the compressor may have been ingested by your engine causing damage to pistons and valves.

If the seal in the old turbo failed and you had a run away from the engine burning it's own oil you could have had a hydro-lock which will bend connecting rods.