1975 bmw 2002

couttsdesign

Veteran Member
TDI
1975 BMW 2002-TDI
Hello all. I figure now is a good time to post up my build thread, ALH engine into a 1975 BMW 2002. I started researching this project in October of 2011 so it's coming up on a year...wow time flies. This swap has never been done before so I'm kinda venturing into new territory here. However, after a bit of research I determined it was possible and worthwhile having a cool old bimmer that gets 40+ mpg. Additionally, with the light weight of the 2002 and A/C and power steering delete, I think 60 mpg is attainable.

see lots of pics here...
http://s1178.photobucket.com/albums...W 2002 TDI Engine Conversion/#!cpZZ1QQtppZZ20

Currently, I have the engine and transmission mounted in the car. This is a MAJOR milestone for me...NOTE I'm not an engineer or a mechanic. I'm just a crazy car designer with a crazy desire to drive a vintage car that gets insane MPG's. Anyway, here is a pic of the engine mounted up.

Here is a pic of the donor car: 2001 jetta TDI auto converted to manual. Was a great running car. Suspension a bit tired, excellent body and interior.

And here is the 02 motor getting pulled...yeah that's me in the empty engine bay...doesn't everyone take a pic like this??

Here are the basics for the swap:
-1975 BMW 2002 (smog exempt in CA)
-ALH engine from 2001 Jetta
-Toyota W58 transmission
-acme adapter kit
-e30 rear differential 2.93 ratio. Major fabrication needed here.
-egr, A/C, power steering delete
-oil filter housing relocation (it interferes with the steering box)
-195/50/15 tires (22.7 overall diameter)
with the above specs I expect the following :
@2000 RPM
1st gear-14mph
2nd gear-24mph
3rd gear-36mph
4th gear-46mph
5th gear-59mph
@3000 RPM
1st gear-21mph
2nd gear-37mph
3rd gear-54mph
4th gear-69mph
5th gear-88mph
Comments, advise, suggestions, criticisms are welcome...I'll be posting more pics soon
Cheers!
Chris

Last edited:

couttsdesign

Veteran Member
TDI
1975 BMW 2002-TDI