www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas

VW MKV-A5 Golf/Jettas Discussions area for A5/MkV Jetta/Golf (2005/2006 PD and 2009 CR).

Old July 20th, 2012, 09:37   #1
REEDBR

Default 2006 Jetta TDI BRM Turbo Actuator Replacement

I'm a newbie and hoping i got the correct forum for this question.

I've got a 2006 Jetta TDI engine code BRM, 5 spd manual trans. The entire car turbo and all are stock. I started hearing air/vacuum leak coming from the engine compartment. This was about 1 year after I had major engine repair. I lost two valves, and the camshaft at 117,000 miles then about 150,000 miles this actuator started leaking. The car now has 170,000 miles on it.

Regarding the air/vacuum leak I noticed the car didn't seem to have much power until about 1,800 rpm then you could feel it pull really hard. After the 1,800 rpm range the leak seemed to be less. Upon investigation I could feel air leaking from around the waste gate actuator rod. I looked for a replacement actuator then decided to wait due to the high cost of the turbo and began some searching which is how I found your forum and some threads about the actuators.

I know the engine code is BRM but I have no idea what the turbo is. I'm not even sure if there are multiple manufacturers in 2006 for the turbos. I saw mention of Borg Warner and Garrett in the thread but don't know if that was the turbo or actuator or both.

Anyone know how I can find out which one?

Anyone know how I can find out if the actuator works on vacuum or pressure? I'm kinda thining pressure since I can feel air blowing around the actuator rod.
REEDBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 20th, 2012, 09:46   #2
DanG144
Veteran Member

Vacuum operated.