VW MK4 How to Replace Speakers With Aftermarket

terrydtdi

Veteran Member
TDI
2000 MK4 TDI Jetta 5spd
I search a good bit looking for a how to on spreaker replacement, and didn't find anything that worked for me so I thought I would do a little how-to on how I came up with my plan. I'm not a stereo expert, so if something messes up I'm not responsible. This worked really well for me. My speakers were all dry rotted so I needed to do something, and I didn't want to fab up anything to just put some speakers in.

First remove your door card, here is a good How-To it works pretty much for all of the doors.
http://forums.vwvortex.com/showthre...-panel-door-unlock-handle-and-sideview-mirror)

Note the Crutchfield speaker kit number I used is 0000550013
The kit sounds great, I'm not into heavy bass.

Then once the door panel is removed take a look at the speaker and how the speaker is connected to the speaker housing. Notice the 5 "spokes" holding the speaker to the housing. I used a hacksaw blade to cut the spokes flush with the housing.

Then once you have all of the spokes cut remove the speaker but notice the 2 leads connected to the speaker, you want to try to leave these intact we will use those later.

Now take 2 but end connectors and place one on each lead, notice the wires coming into the plug the first wire should be a brownish color, then a black wire, these are ground for the tweeter, and speaker, then the 3rd. wire should be red, and then the 4th wire should be white, these are positive.

Then connect about 6" of lead that has the speaker connectors on the other end. and tape or you could use shrink wrap to insulate the wiring.

My family got me replacement speakers from Crutchfeild and they fit into the speaker housing very well. I predrilled a small hole for the