www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2013 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > TDI Model Specific Discussions Areas > VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD)

VW MKIV-A4 TDIs (VE and PD) This is a general discussion about A4/MkIV Jetta (99.5-~2005), Golf(99.5-2006), and New Beetle(98-2006). Both VE and PD engines are covered here.

Old January 16th, 2012, 17:09   #1
oh-man67

TDI(s): 2002 jetta
Fuel Economy: best 43 mpg
Default long crank and white smoke after start

I'm still new to the tdi but since I've owned it, intermittently I'll have a long crank/stumble and a cloud of white smoke on inital start up. Its a 2002 jetta with an auto and most times its ok but still ramdomly long crank. This has happened since I got it but I have (not to eliminate this issue) resealed the injector pump, replaced t-belt and water pump, new tires, air and fuel filters, etc etc. I live in southern florida so its not real cold at any time and this has happened even when warmer out. Any help would be great. I'm thinking the anti shudder valve is sticking or the valves are leaking oil down and compression isnt great after that or something.
oh-man67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2012, 08:56   #2
Powder Hound
Veteran Member

Fuel Economy: pretty freakin' good.

I vote the anti-shudder valve sticking. If the valve seals are leaking, then you'd get smoke every time after x hours of non-running (i.e. however long it takes sufficient oil to ooze past the valve seal and dribble into a cylinder).
VW does not build or sell cars. VW builds and sells mobile DIY kits disguised as cars.
Powder Hound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2012, 10:35   #3
dodgediesel
Veteran Member