N47 diesel bmw 2002

ThomasJorgensen

TDI
1.6 tdi VW touran, 520d touring
Hello everyone, engine swap noob here

I'm in love with the n47 diesel engine + tranny combo in newer european bmws, and Ive got my heart set on stuffing one in an old 2002.

Mechanically I realize there is going to be a lot of custom fabrication involved, but that should not be a problem. What I would like some insight on is how hard it would be to get the ECU to function properly. Ideally I would like to keep the 2002 as original as possible, i.e. only swap the necessary systems for the engine to run. How hard is to hack a bmw ECU to "remove" unnecessary systems and sensors? As you can probably tell I know very little about ECUs.

The build would take place in portugal, which i know has some pretty talented "chiptuners", most of their jobs seem to be modern diesel bmws, they might be the right people for the job?

Thanks Guys I appreciate any enlightenment I can get, have been trying to do some research but haven't really been able to dig anything up.

maybe a VAG 2.0 tdi would be simpler ECU wise?

Last edited:

couttsdesign

Veteran Member
TDI
1975 BMW 2002-TDI
BMW 2002 diesel

I am also interested in converting a BMW 2002 to diesel. The N47 is a great motor and I would love to use it, especially to keep the manufacturer consistent. However, in the USA it is very difficult to get these motors and there is no support network. The VW community has a long history of proven knowledge regarding diesel, and also with VAG one can diagnose and adjust codes and ecu settings. For these reasons I have decided to put a ALH into a BMW 2002 (also because my daily driver is a 2000 Golf TDI with ALH and I love it!!).