Canadian HPFP failure !!

BrokenTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI
Not to worry my southern friends. We too ,up here , have the same problem HPFP as you. My wifes 2010 Golf TDI with 132000kms on it decided to implode last friday. As you can see it is past its warranty. I am a diesel mechanic and I am used to seeing high pressure fuel pumps last for a million miles or more! Even at 132000kms , my pump is an early failure. I will battle VW Canada untill my dying breath so that NOBODY has to wonder when their beloved TDI is going to leave them stranded with a huge "life changing" amount of money to pay.

voldar

TDI
None
Your wife did 3 times the Equator in one year and some months ! WOW, and when did you say your wife went to the washroom ?

bobt2382

Veteran Member - TDIClub Contributor
TDI
2010 CW GOLF 4DR 6MT TDI
So sorry to read this. :( Best of luck with the repair and VW of Canada.
I now think about having a few grand handy before taking my TDI on a long trip for travel/lodging expenses just in case this happens. Drive more worry less...but be prepared. :eek:

BrokenTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI
Thanks for the input everyone. My wife uses the car for business so she is on the road all day.Thats why we bought a TDI! We have confirmed that it is the HPFP. I am staring at a very expensive parts list right now. The usual, tank to injectors all replaced. I am of the mind now that after seeing the poor design of the pump compared to heavy diesel pumps the majority of theses pumps will fail prematurely at some time. You might be the lucky ones that will never have a problem. But my opinion is the design will fail.

sway162

TDI
2012 JSW TDI DSG
Man, I am starting to regret my recent purchase. Sorry to hear about your wife's car. Can you elaborate on how the pump is poorly design? Is there anything we can do to prevent these pumps to not fail prematurely?

Last edited:

BrokenTDI

Veteran Member
TDI
2010 Golf TDI