www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old February 21st, 2011, 18:46   #1
holechit

Default Transmission or Torque Converter ~ You Decide?

Hello All ~ Here we go again... Another newbie with what he believes is a torque converter problem. I'm looking for you guru's out there to jump in and show me the light. :-)

I'm not a mechanic just a DIY. Here's what I've got: 2002 Jetta 1.9l TDI, auto transmission, with 267,000 original miles. I've only had one mechanical problem in all these miles, alternator. I perform the normal engine and transmission oil changes and that's all I've had to do. Car is bone stock and been great!

Here my issue. Upon startup the car makes a “rattling” sound from the transmission area but after 4 or 5 minutes it goes away (warms up). I'm thinking it's the torque converter??? I do smell a “burnt” oil smell after the car has been driven. I changed out the transmission fluid and filter using my VAGCOM and the condition did't improve. I also didn’t’ find anything abnormal in the trany pan or inside the trany filter. I’m also throwing a torque converter malfunction lock up code. I clear the code but it always seems to come back? I’m also experiencing the TC staying lockup on occasion when cold and killing the motor when I engage into drive or reverse. The transmission never seems to miss a beat and shifts good at any speed. No slippage or shifting problems that I can feel.

I need some guru knowledge. Thanks in advance for your help.
holechit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2011, 07:48   #2
holechit

Anyone?
Old February 24th, 2011, 07:51   #3
Conan