Jeep TDI conversion-newbie with questions?

tcxtreme

TDI
97 Jeep TJ project with 1.9 AHU
Jeep TDI conversion-build thread

Hi everyone, this is my first post. I am a newbie, as this is my first diesel. I own a 97 Jeep Wrangler and want to do something cool. I have had v8s in my s10 and 4 liter jeeps but everyone has one. So after a ton of reading I have decided to go with a 1.9 TDI. I just started collecting parts last month. I am picking up a car on wednesday it has a 98 1.9 AHU engine with only 67k mioles.

Any input is great except if you want to tell me to do a 350 or something else. Parts are already purchased.

Last edited:

LukeWilson

Veteran Member
TDI
Toyota 4x4 TDI, 2004 Allroad TDI
I would start by reading some of the other TDI to non-VW conversions if you haven't done so. A lot of your questions will be answered as well as a whole bunch you haven't even thought of yet.

1. Using the stock fuel tank if fine, but you cannot use the efi fuel pump. The most fuel pressure you can have running into the injection pump is 2-3 psi, otherwise bad things will happen. When i put a TDI in my truck, i just took the fuel pump right out and it has been fine. It was a bit of a pain to prime the first time but not a huge deal.

2. I have never had anything to do with an MTDI setup but i would recommend keeping the electronics. In all honesty it took me 20 hours to comb through the harness and figure out what i needed to do and 2 hours to get a running truck. There are only 3 wires that need to be spliced into the Jeep harness to get a running truck. I think it is well worth the effort to keep the OBDII and the chippability.

3. I kept a stock Toyota radiator and made my own piping to make it fit. The VW stuff isn't going to work great because you are going from a transverse setup to a longitudinal setup, so most of the hoses won't fit anyways.