www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > Meetings/ GTG/ Regional Discussions > Ontario

Ontario Local discussions for those in the Ontario, Canada area.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old November 14th, 2010, 10:57   #1
mo_focus
Veteran Member
 
mo_focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: stouffville, Ontario, canada
Default Mk6 Jetta Horn

I'm looking for a louder horn. Last couple of weeks of highway driving makes me wonder if i should have a louder horn. Something that trucks can hear

So has anyone changed thier horn on thier mk6 or any car for that matter. Most of them are two wire hook-up but i'm wondering if the horn is hook to can-bus as well and would i be able to hook up an airhorn or something.
__________________
11 VW Jetta TDI Highline+6spd-Mine
mo_focus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2010, 12:28   #2
imo000
Veteran Member
 
imo000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cambridge
Default

What makes you think the mk6 is louder? Most large airhorns need a compressor and a tank to work and this takes up a lot of room.
imo000 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2010, 12:38   #3
JSWTDI09
Veteran Member
 
JSWTDI09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Actually, there are a variety of sellers who sell louder horns for cars. Some are plug and play replacements and some will require a relay added. Here are some examples.

http://www.griotsgarage.com/p2p/sear...rrivals&page=1

Have Fun!

Don
__________________
2009 Jetta SportWagen TDI
Candy White/Anthracite; Build date: 01/16/09; Buy date: 02/09/09
Coveted Three Pedal Version, Big hole in roof
Dieselgeek Shortshifter & Panzer Plate (my favorite & my smartest mods)
2MicronTech Pure Flow and Contain Flow CR fuel system modifications
JSWTDI09 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2010, 13:39   #4
mo_focus
Veteran Member
 
mo_focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: stouffville, Ontario, canada
Default

i'm thinking of getting fiamm or Hella dual or triple horns. I'm just not sure if can-bus would be ok
__________________
11 VW Jetta TDI Highline+6spd-Mine
mo_focus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2010, 13:55   #5
JSWTDI09
Veteran Member
 
JSWTDI09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo_focus View Post
I'm just not sure if can-bus would be ok
There is no horn controller, so I doubt the CAN bus would care. I think that the only possible issue is if the horn draws enough current to blow a fuse. If so, you would need to add a relay with it's own power source. I suspect that the Hella horn would just be a direct replacement. There's only one way to find out.

Have Fun!

Don
__________________
2009 Jetta SportWagen TDI
Candy White/Anthracite; Build date: 01/16/09; Buy date: 02/09/09
Coveted Three Pedal Version, Big hole in roof
Dieselgeek Shortshifter & Panzer Plate (my favorite & my smartest mods)
2MicronTech Pure Flow and Contain Flow CR fuel system modifications

Last edited by JSWTDI09; November 15th, 2010 at 13:02.
JSWTDI09 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2010, 10:15   #6
MoCoBabs
Newbie
 
MoCoBabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN
TDI(s): 2003 Jetta
Default

My horn just stopped working. Any thoughts as to what I can try to figure the problem out? Could something have come disconnected and if so, where should I look first? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
MoCoBabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2010, 11:14   #7
mo_focus
Veteran Member
 
mo_focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: stouffville, Ontario, canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoCoBabs View Post
My horn just stopped working. Any thoughts as to what I can try to figure the problem out? Could something have come disconnected and if so, where should I look first? Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Fuse, realy, switch and if they are good then you need a new horn.
__________________
11 VW Jetta TDI Highline+6spd-Mine
mo_focus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2010, 10:55   #8
sinc
Veteran Member
 
sinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
TDI(s): None
Default

i'm running hella twin supertone horns on my mk4, very very loud lol
__________________
...MKV GTI TR...
sinc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2010, 06:57   #9
Toronto_Vento
Veteran Member
 
Toronto_Vento's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Fuel Economy: 50/48/44
Default

I had hella supertones on my MKIII and miss them. The trick is to run them with 12V power directly from the batt, rather than using the thin cables in the factory setup. Quite loud indeed (and no extra compressor, etc needed).

I bought them from Canadian Tire (a number of years ago) special order. They were about $105 + tax at the time.
__________________
-- John K
Wingnut's HOW TO's thread
"The commuting system is so badly broken that it will take decades just to bring it up to a level where it is merely malfunctioning." - Globe Drive
Toronto_Vento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2010, 10:41   #10
Brian B
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Acton, Ontario, Canada
Fuel Economy: 3.7/5.1/6.5
Default

Someone should pick Wingnuts brain about loud horns. I'm sure he has something in the works for one of those CN Freight train horns

Nigel, any comments??????
__________________
Brian B
Nehvrgoenbach
2003 Jetta Wagon TDI
GLI Lip, Tech9 Stage 1,
Autotech hollow rear sway bar, Aluminum Skid Plate
Ventectomy
Brian B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2010, 13:54   #11
mo_focus
Veteran Member
 
mo_focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: stouffville, Ontario, canada
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian B View Post
Someone should pick Wingnuts brain about loud horns. I'm sure he has something in the works for one of those CN Freight train horns

Nigel, any comments??????
haha yeah Nigel can i get a horn please!
__________________
11 VW Jetta TDI Highline+6spd-Mine
mo_focus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2010, 05:59   #12
Toronto_Vento
Veteran Member
 
Toronto_Vento's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Fuel Economy: 50/48/44
Default

For those who need inspiration:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icnRMW6P9nc
__________________
-- John K
Wingnut's HOW TO's thread
"The commuting system is so badly broken that it will take decades just to bring it up to a level where it is merely malfunctioning." - Globe Drive
Toronto_Vento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2010, 06:28   #13
40X40
Experienced
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kansas City area, MO
Fuel Economy: TBD, new data forthcoming
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo_focus View Post
I'm looking for a louder horn. Last couple of weeks of highway driving makes me wonder if i should have a louder horn. Something that trucks can hear

So has anyone changed thier horn on thier mk6 or any car for that matter. Most of them are two wire hook-up but i'm wondering if the horn is hook to can-bus as well and would i be able to hook up an airhorn or something.

If you are near a truck and NEED a horn, you are too close to that truck.

Drive like your life depends on it.

Bill
__________________
www.IHMSA.ORGhttp://www.youtube.com:80/watch?v=Xtsxt7xgbpc
If you omit pertinent info from your question, you cannot reasonably expect a good answer.//Not affiliated with any vendors except as a customer.// Wise people lurk more.// I'm not a guru.// 'I got actual real friends in the real world'-T'sTDI/ If you were the only entry, there wasn't a race.// Grammar and spelling really are important, but I don't claim to be good at it.// Typical drivers can't.
40X40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2010, 07:35   #14
CmdrData
Veteran Member
 
CmdrData's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: North of 401, where the snow double/triple up!
TDI(s): 2001 Golf
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40X40 View Post
If you are near a truck and NEED a horn, you are too close to that truck.

Drive like your life depends on it.

Bill
Bill, usually it is more like the truck is too close to me. Driving on 401, my life do depends on the car's horn and it has saved me couple time already.
__________________
Kelvin

2001 Golf TDI GLS
2011 Nissan Rogue SL
CmdrData is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2010, 07:46   #15
BigI
Veteran Member
 
BigI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pefferlaw ON CND
Default

I switched most of my cars over to this specific model, using existing wiring. http://cgi.ebay.ca/Stebel-Nautilus-C...item3cb28d703f
I had Hellas from CT but they will not last more than 1 winter and the warranty exhanges were a hassle.
__________________
2k2 Jetta GLS TDI, 5 spd, moded&more, now daughter drives it, 500+Km
BigI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.21382 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 126.27 Kb. compressed to 104.28 Kb. by saving 21.99 Kb. (17.42%)]