www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You



Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old March 11th, 2010, 11:27   #1
cleaver
Veteran Member
 
cleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berwick, Nova Scotia
Default Limp mode reset by Scanguage??

I was always under the impression that once in Limp Mode the car needed to be turned off then on again to get your turbo back up.
Yesterday, I went into Limp mode (Overboost P0234) and scanned with my Scanguage, then cleared the CEL (while driving). After (less than a minute) my power came back.

Is this normal? Does clearing the CEL bring the TDI out of limp mode?
__________________
Diagnosing Limp Mode
IMO, best place to buy VW parts in Canada: contact Brian @ http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/roseland/
cleaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 05:53   #2
cleaver
Veteran Member
 
cleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berwick, Nova Scotia
Default

24 views of the thread and not one reply...has no one ever seen this before?

I was hoping that it is not a regular occurrance (for all limp modes) and it would provide some insight into why I go into limp mode.
__________________
Diagnosing Limp Mode
IMO, best place to buy VW parts in Canada: contact Brian @ http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/roseland/
cleaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 05:55   #3
Sooch
Veteran Member
 
Sooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
TDI(s): 2005 Golf
Fuel Economy: 44-45
Default

Sounds about right to me. I can clear codes on the fly with my scangauge too. It just so happens that the overboost code not only turns on the CEL but must also tell the software to go into limp mode. Remove the code, remove the limp.
__________________
Chris
OCD TDICLUB MEMBER #2
John Deere Telematics
05 Golf TDI - Modified
03 Passat 1.8T - Stock (Her's)...Yawn
Sooch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 06:07   #4
cleaver
Veteran Member
 
cleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berwick, Nova Scotia
Default

I would like to offer this solution to others that have limp mode sporadically, it sure beats having to turn off the engine and restart....
__________________
Diagnosing Limp Mode
IMO, best place to buy VW parts in Canada: contact Brian @ http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/roseland/
cleaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 12:08   #5
seaglf
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Default *** do I do

OK here is my history. I bought my car a few years ago used, its a 2002 VW Golf GLS TDI with the 01m transmission. I was getting about 45 or more on the highway.A couple years ago I ran over a curb on the passenger side at an angel, and it broke the oil pan, right front tire and some suspension components. VW fixed everything but ever since I have been getting increasingly worse molage and power, and seemed like the transmission was slipping. Anyway I took it to Todd with Dieseltoyz, a trusted mechanic on this site. I had the intake cleaned, EGR cleaned, new Diesel geek timing belt, and had the transmission oil and filter changed. After I got the car the transmission was slipping on exceleration from a complete stop, and then locking up hard, and jerking when I came to a stop. I went back and had him add a little OIL and it seemed to work better for awhile. Now it still seemed like it had low power, and I assumed it was the transmission. So we talked about it and I have read numerous forums on problems with the 01m, and ordered a new valve body. So I am in the Houston area now and replaced the valve body, put a transmission cooler replacement kit. I went to a VW specialist here in Houston and had the VAG COM scan done and he said I was getting a code for the MAF, and actually ran the engine while reading the parameters and said they where way off. I ordered a new MAF from MJM Autohauss, I went to VW dealer and checked the serial number and the appearance of the MAF myself and the one I bought was Identical. I also replaced the g68 transmission sensor the Crankshaft sensor the Temperature sensor,( with the new Green one) which by the way was the p108 code I was getting originally from my scan Gauge II. I cleaned the intake from the throttle body to the intake on top. there was oil pouring out of the inter cooler. I put everything back properly so there is no lose hoses. Now I filled the inter cooler up with degreaser and water, and there where no leaks. OK I went back to the VW guy here in Houston yesterday and he did another scan and flashed the hole computer and still got the wrong parameters for the MAF, also low boost pressure. when I was checking the inter cooler I noticed it had been hit and bent a little but did not leak when I put water in it. He told me it could be leaking under pressure though. Anyway I got a wheel speed sensor signal ( changed the brakes too),. And I put dielectric grease on every connection I put back including the MAP on the inter cooler. Could the Dielectric grease be effecting everything. I intend to clean the connection to the MAF and test the voltage like it says in my Haynes book and try it. I have been going through hell trying to figure this out and I am tired of throwing money into this car. I am also aware of the possibility of the VNT actuator or the Vanes being caked up with carbon, or the Catylitic converter. Please help me if you can....What exactly are the sensors you mentioned from the VAG COM description. By the way do you know where I can find A VAG COM and software cheap.

Last edited by seaglf; March 26th, 2010 at 19:46.
seaglf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 12:38   #6
cleaver
Veteran Member
 
cleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berwick, Nova Scotia
Default

nice hijack of the thread, you should create a new thread...LOL

There is no cheap vag-com (VCDS) just spend the money and buy it.

Seems like you have several problems, tranny and turbo are not related...hitting the curb and losing mileage???? thats not your turbo...maybe your intercooler??
__________________
Diagnosing Limp Mode
IMO, best place to buy VW parts in Canada: contact Brian @ http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/roseland/
cleaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 14:17   #7
thebigarniedog
Master of the Obvious
 
thebigarniedog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fail Command (Central Ohio)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleaver
24 views of the thread and not one reply...has no one ever seen this before?

I was hoping that it is not a regular occurrance (for all limp modes) and it would provide some insight into why I go into limp mode.
Well, please start from scratch with all the specifics of your car --- I assume it is the 2002 in your signature; what is the mileage? any mods? maintenance done is (i.e. intake cleaned)? etc ......
__________________
I do not support policies that increase the cost of energy, since those policies unfairly and disproportionately increase the cost of food, clothing and necessities on the poor. Welcome to critical Thinking 101.
OCD TDICLUB MEMBER # 1
thebigarniedog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 16:05   #8
steelmb
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MB
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleaver
I would like to offer this solution to others that have limp mode sporadically, it sure beats having to turn off the engine and restart....
Would you suggest people talk on their cell phones while doing it?
steelmb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 16:16   #9
seaglf
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Default Scan Gauge

Technically I have a scan Gauge II in my car, so maybe its not high jacking this thread......I am not sure what limp mode is....do you get a code for that or does your car just go into it.....My loss of power and mileage for the past 2 years...could it be in permanent limp mode. There are so many possibilities with my car. The mechanic I just brought it to yesterday says he's pretty sure its the MAF.....and I just talked to another in San Antonio....and he says I need to bring it so he can check it. I just checked the voltage on the MAF plug and it was ok...
seaglf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 16:29   #10
seaglf
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Default my car

2002 VW Golf GLS TDI automatic 01m.....Changed...got code p0108 on scan gauge over a year ago...changed temp sensor with new green one.....changed crank case sensor g68 transmission speed sensor.....MAF sensor...intire intake system cleaned....new timing belt (Diesel geek),and water pump(brass)....new valve body on transmission....Just checked voltage on MAF Plug...OK.watched mechanic check MAF at idle with VAG COM only 120 mg/h. so he says the one I bought is probably bad.
seaglf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 16:34   #11
seaglf
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Default dielectric grease

OK I forgot to add that now I'm getting code 1556 MAP

And the mechanic that did the VAG COM Scan said I had low boost pressure

Now I have put Dielectric grease on all the sensor connections, and read a post from someone Not to put it on a MAF plug does anyone no about this....is it possible that the grease is effecting my sensors.
seaglf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 10:44   #12
cleaver
Veteran Member
 
cleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berwick, Nova Scotia
Default

The only question I was actually asking in this thread was "Can resetting the CEL by using a scanguage (II), actually re-enable the turbo (bring the car out of Limp Mode)? Do some reading I have found out that there is a soft and a hard Limp Mode. Is this true? What are the differences? What causes the soft vs. hard limp mode....?



As for Seaglf, my MAF acts like yours, I replaced it a couple years ago and it fixed a little bit. I then replaced the VNT, which fixed more, but now I think my MAF is bad again (VCDS logs point to bad MAF) or I have a bad N75...if I push hard on the accelerator I will overboost and go into limp mode. If I feather the pedal in and out of WOT, I can keep a full boost for the most part; not perfect boost, but not sending me into Limp Mode.
__________________
Diagnosing Limp Mode
IMO, best place to buy VW parts in Canada: contact Brian @ http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/roseland/
cleaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 10:48   #13
cleaver
Veteran Member
 
cleaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Berwick, Nova Scotia
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steelmb
Would you suggest people talk on their cell phones while doing it?
I would rather reset by Scanguage, than have to turn off and restart the engine while travelling 130km/h....

There are so many other issues that distract drivers these days, why pick on just the cell phones...I bet I can drive better while using a cell phone than someone trying to read a paper or put on makeup (or change a readio station or CD) - (not all people, just some....)
__________________
Diagnosing Limp Mode
IMO, best place to buy VW parts in Canada: contact Brian @ http://www3.ns.sympatico.ca/roseland/
cleaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 18:46   #14
seaglf
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Default smae thing

My car is doing the same thing if I ease in and out on the throttle it seems to accelerate better then if I give it full throttle or just even throttle.

By the way I found a vacuum hose lose after trying to plug and unplug he MAF

it was a hose going to the top of the Intake,or EGR.. Plugged it back in and it seems to run a little better...I can give it full throttle in neutral and it jumps right up to redline

But when I do it in drive and I can tell that the transmission is locked up it comes up slow to RPM's.

Also when I take off from a start the transmission slips in and out till I get it up in temp.

On another note using my scan Gauge I watched the Transmission Temp and the water temp go up to 240 and was scared that I was about to burn up my car.

but noticed that the temp was flashing for milliseconds 179 for TFT...and 186...for Water

I am starting to wonder If my scan Gauge is causing my problems has anyone had bad experience with a Scan Gauge.
seaglf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 18:52   #15
seaglf
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Default Scan Gauge II

Correction I have a scan gauge II.....and I meant that when I am in drive and there is no evidence of slipping. The car seems to accelerate slowly with steady RPM's
seaglf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright - TDIClub Online LTD - 2014
Contact Us | Privacy Statement | Forum Rules | Disclaimer
TDIClub Online Ltd (TDIClub.com) is not affiliated with the VWoA or VWAG and is supported by contributions from viewers like you.
1996 - 2013, All Rights Reserved
Page generated in 0.15426 seconds with 9 queries
[Output: 125.08 Kb. compressed to 103.93 Kb. by saving 21.16 Kb. (16.91%)]