www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2016 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Order your TDIClub merchandise and help support TDIClub

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > Fuels & Lubricants

Fuels & Lubricants Discussion all about Fuels & Lubricants. synthetic oil, conventional oil, brands, change intervals, diesel grades, gelling and such debated items like that. Non TDI related postings will be moved or removed. This forum is NOT for the discussion of biodiesel and other alternative fuels.

Old April 26th, 2009, 21:47   #1
pogopop77

Default Premium Diesel Map

Hi all, I am a newbie here. I just bought my first diesel (BMW 335d) and so far, I absolutely love it. However, I've found it's hard to locate premium diesel (high cetane number) fuel. I've found some useful information here on the forums, particularly this thread: http://forums.tdiclub.com/showthread...74#post1987974

But even that is sort of a general guide, and doesn't appear to be definitive. For example, it lists Shell as carrying 46 cetane fuel, but all the Shell stations I've visited in my area (Maryland) are either labeled 40 or 42 cetane (or unlabeled -- maybe that means it's 46?)

What I'd like to do is put together a comprehensive map, which could assist folks in a finding premium diesel (>= 45 cetane) in the U.S. It's annoying when you are on the highway or in a new town trying to figure out which station has the "good stuff". I've started on a such a map here (with the paltry two stations I've confirmed carry premium diesel):

http://maps.google.com/maps/ms?sourc...,1.235962&z=10

I welcome your comments or inputs via email, private message, or reply on this thread.

Thanks!
pogopop77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2009, 03:32   #2
Joe_Meehan
Veteran Member