Jatco Transmission problem

DrYankee919

TDI
2004 Jetta TDI W/auto trans
Hello,just joined up how you doin? I have a 04 Jetta with the 09A (jatco j506e trans) Have a problem with this problem transmission that I have not seen or read about during my search(which led me here) or my experience with this trans (I am a Landrover Technician and this trans is in the Freelander) I have a code P0722 output speed sensor no signal,I have taken the ohm readings and resistance is off the chart,sensor is in the differential on the INSIDE of transmission VW sells the sensor but will not service it. Tried to sell me rebuilt trans for $5,000 After taking transmission out myself I can't blame them anybody have a teardown procedure for this as manuels for this modle are scarce and what else to look for when I have it apart. Vehicle has 107,000 miles on it,speedo doesn't work right away then jumps to 25mph once you get going transmission is not sure when to shift any input will be greatly appreaciated thanks

pruzink

Veteran Member
TDI
GLS, 2004, silver