www.tdiclub.com

Economy - Longevity - Performance
The #1 Source of TDI Information on the Web!
Forums TDIFAQ Articles Links Meets
Orders TDI Club Cards TDIFest 2014 Gone, but not forgotten VAG-Com List Unit Conversions TDIClub Chat Thank You

Go Back   TDIClub Forums > VW TDI Discussion Areas > TDI 101

TDI 101 Got a simple/basic TDI question? Are you a newbie (new to the forums). Feel free to post your question here.

Old September 10th, 2008, 08:21   #1
aume2007

Default Italian Tune Up

I'm a newbie. What exactly does an Italian tune-up consist of and what are the benefits/consequences? Any info would be greatly appreciated.

02 Jetta, 120k miles
aume2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 08:23   #2
Lex4TDI4Life
Veteran Member

Drive hard, get the RPMs up close to redline for a decent stretch. 3rd gear works well and might allow you to stay near the speed limit. The benefits are that it raises EGTs to burn off any carbon that might be gunking up your turbo and it also helps keep your EGR and intake manifold clean.
RC2, Bosch T4-764 injectors, OMI, SBC Stg 2 Clutch, Koni FSDs, TT LCA Bushings, The Mystery Bar, Dieselgeek Panzer Plate, Elephant Hose, DG Race Pipe, Autometer Cobalt Boost Gauge, Boostvalve,Fumoto Valve, Mufflerectomy, Scangauge II
Lex4TDI4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 08:24   #3
mannytranny
Veteran Member

TDI(s): 02 Jetta

High speed run or high exhaust gas temp conditions.

Diesel engines tend to get carboned up if driven gently for long periods. Winding them up and blowing out that carbon (soot) makes them run better. It is a good idea to take it to the redline at least once every 100 miles or so (IMO).

After a bout of 1300+ EGT, the car feels a bit quicker.

Bottom line....diesel engines are made to work, so work it!
mannytranny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2008, 08:27   #4
Lex4TDI4Life
Veteran Member

Just don't hand your car over to these guys